Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fantastic recipe! So simple, yet completely wonderful! I added a single cleaned jalapeno pepper to the vegetable mix for a little bite... but otherwise was true to the original recipe. Thank you so much! A keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Southampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
i made this because I had a bunch of green tomatoes and had nothing to do with them. I gave a few jars away and people started raving about it. Then i tried it on a hotdog and was amazed at how good it was. I have one friend who will call to see if I have any chores he could do for me, he only wants paid in Green Tomato Relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My food processor ground the ingredients to a finer texture than the original recipe photo, but we actually liked it better that way. This relish is sweeter than I expected, so next batch I am planning to replace some of the sweet peppers with jalapeños to kick up the heat. The recipe also made more than it indicated. Not only does this relish have a fantastic flavor, it is very easy to make. I put this in small decorative canning jars to give as gifts when we have guests at the farm. Now, they are spoiled and ask for a jar every visit! --ChicksRUs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is very, very good!!! I just love it. I use it in tuna fish sandwiches. Soooooooo good! If you try it I know you'll like it. This is just perfect solution for your green tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This relish is awesome. My whole family loves it. It is great with roast beef, on sandwiches, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My mother also made this for years. Now that she has passed I make it and distribute some of it to my brothers. The recipe is made to use up whats left in the garden at the end of the growing season. I add about 6 to 8 cups of ground cabbage also. I triple the recipe keeping the onion about the same amount as this recipe shows. I don't like using a food processor it works to well. I like it not so finely ground up. But I like it finer then store bought pickle relish though. If it is to fine you lose alot when draining the water off it. I use a blender. You add water with vegetables about half and half. Works well. You don't have to be exact on your vegetable mix ratio. But keep the syrup ingredients ratio pretty close to the measurements given. Make sure your juice saturates the vegetable mixture top when in the jars. You need warm wet paper towels to keep jar rims clean of the sticky juice. If the rim is sticky it will not stay sealed for years but a month or maybe less. So check lids repeatedly before storing. I use it in potato salad, egg salad, tuna salad, on hot dogs. Macaroni salad and in deviled eggs. Even people who said they don't like pickle relish love this. I think it's originally called chow chow many years ago. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by boxerlover
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Perfect green tomato relish - more better than you can buy at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. What a great way to use the end of season tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C Anselment
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time today, it is fabulous, great flavor and very easy to make. I did use red, yellow and orange bell peppers for color and also used a combination of yellow and red onions. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States