Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Nanna, my first hubbie's grandmother used to put up a big batch of this made with ripe tomatoes once a year. She called it homemade ketchup. The local Catfish Cafe in Shelbyville, TN. had this green tomato relish on the table for whatever you wanted to eat it with, YUM! My fav was fried catfish, white beans, this relish and hot cornbread. Thanks so much for the recipe! I'm going to make it this way And try to make a light version with a combo of sugar and Splenda. I'll let you know if the light version passes the taste test. Cajun Belle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe turned out alot better than I was expecting considering that this was the first time I ever made relish of any kind. Unfortunately, I'm the only one in the family that will eat it. I think next time I'll scale down the recipe so I'm not left with a ton or relish to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I love this recipe... although I had my doubts. I usually throw out the whole tomato bush, tomatoes and all, at the end of the season. Well, no more! This was easy, tasty and looks pretty in the jars. I have only ever canned jelly so the 30 min hot water bath thing was a bit much since I have no canning supplies. Just make sure your biggest jars fit in your biggest pot with plenty of room above it for water. Mine didn't and there were two jars that I could not process that are hanging out in the fridge. No matter, though, they won't last long!! All I changed was that I added extra salt and a little more vinegar than called for. Tastes like sweet pickles, NOTHING like tomatoes, in case you are worried. Also, I had a variety of tomatoes: big, little, cherry. Some were green, some were a little orange, I think maybe a few red ones even snuck in. One thing I'd love to try is adding heat, like a hot pepper or red pepper flakes to zip it up even more. I'll let y'all know if I try it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I reduced the amount of sugar by half, and added table-spoon of powdered cumin with a tea spoon of ginger. Also I used onion salt instead of plain salt (or pickling salt). It made a great sweet and tangy relish. Super, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wulfrunian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great tasting, and not too difficult. What a great use for my over abundance of green tomatoes. I made a half batch and used 2 cups of splenda in place of the sugar, came out perfect. I plan to make this again and give as gifts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
very good--like the last reviewer, i felt that there was a little something missing, but overall, just super. i can hardly wait to start giving them away!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was very easy but just tasted a little off to me. Not sure what was missing. However, it's a good basic recipe that I will use again and tweak to my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My mom made this relish every fall to use up all those green tomatoes! It was a family favorite. Mom died before she could pass along the recipe. How delighted I was to find it on Allrecipes. I reduced the sugar to 3 cups and canned in 12 oz. jam jars. Thanks, Linda, for sharing this recipe. It's a delicious walk down Memory Lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Yesterday I removed my vegetable plants and had loads of green tomatoes. I decided to look for a way to use them and chose this recipe. Wow! Delicious! I used only 3 cups of sugar but was very pleased with the results. This is going to make great Christmas gifts. Now I can't wait until next year's garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was a great recipe. It will become a great fall tradition to use up green tomatoes left in the garden before the first frost. We really enjoyed it, and it will make great gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States