Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was a great way to use all the green tomatoes that were left when it was time to take the plants out in the fall. It is delicious and we ended up using it on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Quartered the recipe, filled 12 4 oz jars. The only thing I changed was I used 6 banana peppers instead of red bell because that is what came from my garden. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this as is but added some allspice. We love it on hotdogs with mustard, I've tried it in egg salad and in deviled eggs. It's a big hit in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I give the recipe 5 stars, though with a couple of caveats and clarifications. My one complaint is that the recipe quantities should be halved. Yes, it's simple enough for somebody to divide everything by two themselves if they don't want the full recipe, but I blindly followed the recipe since I had plenty of green tomatoes that I needed to use. Holy #$@^?!, what huge quantities this recipe produces! I wound up having to split the recipe into two batches just to be able to fit it into my mixing bowls, colander, and stock pot. But since this halving was done on the fly rather than in a planned manner, I'm sure that the proportions of ingredients in each of the two batches varied by quite a bit ("let's see - that looks like about half of the tomatoes, and about half of the onions," etc., etc.). Also - I had planned to use 4 cups of sugar instead of 5, only to realize that I only had 2 cups of sugar left in the pantry. It still came out to be quite tasty and plenty sweet. Had I used 5 cups of sugar, it's hard to imagine the result being anything short of sickenly sweet. So in my personal view, it seems like the sugar dosage can be dropped substantially - with much less sugar it's quite tasty and much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this recipe this summer, love it, great on hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Okay, I have to be fair here-I see that the original recipe yield was 12 pints. I planned to make 1/3 recipe but because of not knowing how big a large tomato was I used too many tomatoes and ended up with 7 pints. I agree with those who said it tasted good mixed with cream cheese for a dip on chips or crackers. It is very similar to Harry & David's red pepper and onion relish recipe which my family loves. I will gladly use it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
At last! Something to do with all those extra green tomatoes. Since this recipe is rather large, I cut the recipe in half and used my largest cooking pot. This made 7 pint jars, which filled up my canner. I followed the suggestion of others and cut the sugar down to 3 cups (1 1/2 for my recipe). It is hard to judge the amount of green tomatoes that goes into this, as the tomatoes vary in size. So, it is just guesswork. But it tastes really good. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is excellent, and a simple way to use up green tomatoes. We use the relish on everything, from hot dogs to meat loaf. I will make more next year, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
One difficulty I had with this recipe: how big is a large tomato? We had large beefsteaks that had bigger water content and larger size than normal. It was hard trying to adjust to what was expected of "24 large tomatoes". Alot of guesswork involved. Surely a poundage or a volumetric measurement would help more! The simmering mixture turned out needing more vinegar and more sugar in adjustment, my guess being that there was too much tomato from misguessing. That said, I tried my best to get it to a nice outcome but the final product tasted like there was an ingredient missing somewhat. Still it was a pretty decent, if fussy outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is absolutely fantabulous! I've been making this for several years and it never fails me. Great way to use up the last of the seasons tomatoes that don't make it to the ripe stage. Always have this on hand and it does come in handy (no pun intended) for an impromptu hostess gift or for holiday gift giving. Thanks for this wonderful recipe that I hope to never be without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States