Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
What kind of onions are best for this----sweet, white, or just plain ol onions? Thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I had an over abundance of green roma tomatoes last fall, so tried this recipe. I loved how it turned out and only put half the amount of sugar it called for. I am going to try substituting zucchini instead of tomato and will hope for the best. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob Woodside
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Used this recipe yesterday, but used pablano and jalepeno in place off the green bell pepper. Used the red bell, for the color. Turned out wonderful, with just a little bit of bite. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I first found and made this recipe in 2009 when we were going to have an early frost and my tomato plants were covered with green tomatoes -- including green cherry tomatoes, which I also added in. I figured out that 24 large green tomatoes weigh approximately 13.5 lbs., so I factor that in when using different sizes. The changes I made to this recipe are: 1) I make this as a hot relish, adding 18-24 jalapeno peppers (remove the seeds for medium heat), 2) I use less sugar (~ 4 cups), and 3) I remove any seeds that can be removed quickly and easily from the tomatoes as I cut them up to put in my food processor, which helps reduce the time needed to drain the tomato mixture. With these changes, I get anywhere from 15-17 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
absolutely delicious and easy to make. Tip: save the liquid drained from the tomato, pepper and onion mixture and use it as a soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is the best and most flavorful relish. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Auer Binkley
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made last year. It was wonderful. Gave to my friends and they also liked it and asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I make a very similar recipe, but it also uses green cabbage and it sets in a sprinkling of salt for a few hours or overnight and rinsed and drained before cooking and canning. Our family used this on burgers and in our tuna fish or for making tartar sauce. It's a great way to use up the leftovers from the garden...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Lou Slocum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAH ADAMS
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
THIS IS PURE AWESOMENESS!!! SO SO GOOD!! AND REALLY EASY TO MAKE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States