Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Tasted good! Not canning anymore so I simmered for the time suggested and used my Foodsaver and put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is close enough to my recipe that I feel I can review it. This stuff is so superior to store-bought relish! I can't eat a hot dog, hamburger, or ham sandwich at home without it. For a wonderful treat and a quick appetizer, mix this relish with shredded extra sharp cheddar, mash together, and add low-fat mayonnaise to a spreading consistency. Serve with crackers. Fast, different, and fabulous. Also great in ham salad. Grind the ham, add relish and mayo to taste. Best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is the best relish! We get this from a relative as a Christmas present every year and we go through it so quickly, we can't wait for the next year to get another jar. I have a large amount of end of season green tomatoes and I decided to look up the recipe to see if I could duplicate it, and this was a match. We joked that this is so good we would eat it on ice cream! I made half a recipe and didn't change a thing. I found another reviewers suggestiong of adding water to the blender to help chop the tomatoes very helpful as I don't have a food processor. I would add one cut up tomato (or pepper or onion) and just enough water to cover. Pulse a few times until chopped to the consistency you want, then drain through a fine mesh strainer. Then into the cheesecloth. Thank you for the tips and for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used this recipe last year to use up our green tomatoes that did not ripen. And today I am going to use it again. So happy I found this recipe. I use it as I would use any pickle relish I buy in the store. It makes great thousand island dressing. I gave some of the canned jars away to friends this summmer and it will make a great gift for someone special this Christmas. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martelle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Oh my! simply heaven on earth! I live in the Adirondacks NY, and to say that we have an early frost is no exaggeration! Now I will ALWAYS have a yummy reason not to mourn an early end to another growing season! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is the best relish recipe I have ever used in 40 years of canning.Great on hot dogs, ham eggs or put cream cheese on a craker and a dollop of this WOW!!!!. A hint to the lady who had trouble chopping it to the right size. Fill your blender 3/4 with water, add quartered tomatoes and pulse a little until it's the right size for you, put in a colander over a bowl to drain and reuse the water. Also works good for peppers, onions etc. Great way to shred cabbage for slaw too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I love this relish.... i got this from a friend an lost it .... sooooooo glad i found it on all recipes....we love to eat it on everything but mostly our collards from the garden.... u wont go wrong with this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Mix this relish in a little cream cheese, with or without a touch of horseradish. It's the perfect dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this and followed the recipe. It is excellent. My whole family enjoys it. It reminds me of the relish my mother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great way to use up those tomatoes before they freeze. Just as good as sweet pickle relish - the tomato haters won't know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States