Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used this recipe last year to use up our green tomatoes that did not ripen. And today I am going to use it again. So happy I found this recipe. I use it as I would use any pickle relish I buy in the store. It makes great thousand island dressing. I gave some of the canned jars away to friends this summmer and it will make a great gift for someone special this Christmas. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martelle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Oh my! simply heaven on earth! I live in the Adirondacks NY, and to say that we have an early frost is no exaggeration! Now I will ALWAYS have a yummy reason not to mourn an early end to another growing season! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is the best relish recipe I have ever used in 40 years of canning.Great on hot dogs, ham eggs or put cream cheese on a craker and a dollop of this WOW!!!!. A hint to the lady who had trouble chopping it to the right size. Fill your blender 3/4 with water, add quartered tomatoes and pulse a little until it's the right size for you, put in a colander over a bowl to drain and reuse the water. Also works good for peppers, onions etc. Great way to shred cabbage for slaw too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I love this relish.... i got this from a friend an lost it .... sooooooo glad i found it on all recipes....we love to eat it on everything but mostly our collards from the garden.... u wont go wrong with this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Mix this relish in a little cream cheese, with or without a touch of horseradish. It's the perfect dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this and followed the recipe. It is excellent. My whole family enjoys it. It reminds me of the relish my mother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great way to use up those tomatoes before they freeze. Just as good as sweet pickle relish - the tomato haters won't know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I couldn’t get celery seeds or mustard seeds by themselves, so I used a pickled gherkin packet mix that also had peppercorns, dill, and coriander in it. Also, I followed the advice of other reviewers, and cut the amount of sugar by about 1/3rd. Glad I did, because it’s just about perfect now and I wouldn’t want it any sweeter. I only made this yesterday and have already tried it with cheese on toast. It's REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was a great way to use green tomatoes at the end of the season the night before a hard frost hit us!! My friends all raved over how delicious this was! It tastes just like sweet pickle relish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelelyl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been using a recipe very similar to this for the past few years to make relish. Everybody just loves it! It is easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEJENS234

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Applegate, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States