Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Just like my favorite aunt use to make. Great way to use up all the green tomato's left in the garden for a year-round treat. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Wonderful on hotdogs! I chopped everything by hand so it would be more chunky and I really am gald I made a whole batch b/c I don't think I can go back to store bought relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginnybaby19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Though I reduced the sugar, I loved the recipe and was so happy to use up all of the green tomatoes just as the frost hit. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was my first time canning by myself. I had a bushel of green tomatoes and found this recipe. I read ALL of the reviews for help, and decided to cut the sugar to 3 cups. I am glad I did! It was super sweet with the 3 cups. I had two pots of it on the stove, and added fresh jalepenos to one of them. That gave it a sweet and spicy taste, and i prefered that. i don't like sweet relish or sweet pickles, so cutting the sugar for me was needed. Overall, my onions were super strong, and next time i would probably cut them down, and make sure the green tomato's stood out more. It is a good relish, and unique flavor that you cannot get at any store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
surprizingly tasty! won't buy relish again! Didn't have enough sugar so I used brown sugar instead. I'll make it from now on with brown sugar, it's wonderful with the apple cidar vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Tasty way to use some of those green tomatoes left on the vine. Will make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This recipe is FABULOUS. Reminds me of the relish my grandmother used to make. I chop everything in the food processor and it makes it so easy! This year I had such a bumper crop of tomatoes that mid-season I pulled off enough green tomatoes for a 1/2 batch to give myself a "red tomato" break! My kids love to get this in their "Christmas Goodie Basket"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Tasted good! Not canning anymore so I simmered for the time suggested and used my Foodsaver and put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is close enough to my recipe that I feel I can review it. This stuff is so superior to store-bought relish! I can't eat a hot dog, hamburger, or ham sandwich at home without it. For a wonderful treat and a quick appetizer, mix this relish with shredded extra sharp cheddar, mash together, and add low-fat mayonnaise to a spreading consistency. Serve with crackers. Fast, different, and fabulous. Also great in ham salad. Grind the ham, add relish and mayo to taste. Best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is the best relish! We get this from a relative as a Christmas present every year and we go through it so quickly, we can't wait for the next year to get another jar. I have a large amount of end of season green tomatoes and I decided to look up the recipe to see if I could duplicate it, and this was a match. We joked that this is so good we would eat it on ice cream! I made half a recipe and didn't change a thing. I found another reviewers suggestiong of adding water to the blender to help chop the tomatoes very helpful as I don't have a food processor. I would add one cut up tomato (or pepper or onion) and just enough water to cover. Pulse a few times until chopped to the consistency you want, then drain through a fine mesh strainer. Then into the cheesecloth. Thank you for the tips and for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States