Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Easy to make and the taste is out of this world GREAT !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbrough (frog)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Just wondering the quantities of ingredients to make the original batch of 12 pints. My Mom made this type if relish when I was a kid, never liked it much then, but I've grown up now. Great to find this recipe. Thanx VJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Nanna, my first hubbie's grandmother used to put up a big batch of this made with ripe tomatoes once a year. She called it homemade ketchup. The local Catfish Cafe in Shelbyville, TN. had this green tomato relish on the table for whatever you wanted to eat it with, YUM! My fav was fried catfish, white beans, this relish and hot cornbread. Thanks so much for the recipe! I'm going to make it this way And try to make a light version with a combo of sugar and Splenda. I'll let you know if the light version passes the taste test. Cajun Belle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe turned out alot better than I was expecting considering that this was the first time I ever made relish of any kind. Unfortunately, I'm the only one in the family that will eat it. I think next time I'll scale down the recipe so I'm not left with a ton or relish to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I love this recipe... although I had my doubts. I usually throw out the whole tomato bush, tomatoes and all, at the end of the season. Well, no more! This was easy, tasty and looks pretty in the jars. I have only ever canned jelly so the 30 min hot water bath thing was a bit much since I have no canning supplies. Just make sure your biggest jars fit in your biggest pot with plenty of room above it for water. Mine didn't and there were two jars that I could not process that are hanging out in the fridge. No matter, though, they won't last long!! All I changed was that I added extra salt and a little more vinegar than called for. Tastes like sweet pickles, NOTHING like tomatoes, in case you are worried. Also, I had a variety of tomatoes: big, little, cherry. Some were green, some were a little orange, I think maybe a few red ones even snuck in. One thing I'd love to try is adding heat, like a hot pepper or red pepper flakes to zip it up even more. I'll let y'all know if I try it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I reduced the amount of sugar by half, and added table-spoon of powdered cumin with a tea spoon of ginger. Also I used onion salt instead of plain salt (or pickling salt). It made a great sweet and tangy relish. Super, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wulfrunian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great tasting, and not too difficult. What a great use for my over abundance of green tomatoes. I made a half batch and used 2 cups of splenda in place of the sugar, came out perfect. I plan to make this again and give as gifts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
very good--like the last reviewer, i felt that there was a little something missing, but overall, just super. i can hardly wait to start giving them away!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was very easy but just tasted a little off to me. Not sure what was missing. However, it's a good basic recipe that I will use again and tweak to my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My mom made this relish every fall to use up all those green tomatoes! It was a family favorite. Mom died before she could pass along the recipe. How delighted I was to find it on Allrecipes. I reduced the sugar to 3 cups and canned in 12 oz. jam jars. Thanks, Linda, for sharing this recipe. It's a delicious walk down Memory Lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States