Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRUDCHIC7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The Bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
EXCELLENT!!! I canned this relish last year and I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe is A +. I had about 30 lbs of green tomatoes at the end of last season, so I made the relish. I did add some banana peppers. It is delicious. Use it on burgers, hot dogs, or use 1 jar with olive oil mayo and leftover or canned chicken for a crazy easy and great chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Well for me this became an early summer recipe after some "critter" ? rabbits ate off at the ground 8 of my 10 tomato plants. I could not stand the thought of losing my tomatoes so I went looking for a recipe and found this one. After reading all the reviews I subed 3 cups of splenda for the 5 of sugar. And I used 2 red, 2 yellow and 2 green peppers for a little more sweetness. Since the critter left my banana peppers I added 6 of those. My onions seemed strong so I cut back to 8 and I did not drain anything so I would have enough liquid per another review. The nice thing about this recipe is it taste great, is very adaptable, low in sodium and works with splenda so it can be enjoyed by those on special diets. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
We've used a similar recipe to this for generations. Great for using up the last of the green tomatoes from the garden in the fall. We love it! The only difference I can see is we've always used some horseradish and some cloves. We put the spices in a cloth bag and only let a few escape into the relish. Here's my recipe: Green Tomato Relish (24 pints) 30 # green tomatoes 6 sweet red peppers 12 green peppers 12# med. onions 3 cups salt 6 qt. cider vinegar 12 cups sugar 6 Tbsp. celery seed 12 Tbsp. mustard seed 6 Tbsp. horseradish 6 tsp. whole cloves Grind all vegetables on fine grind. Add salt. Let sit overnight. Drain (squeeze!) all liquid out of vegetables. All liquid! Place vinegar in large pan. Add sugar and horseradish. Place spices in cloth spice bag ( I let a few celery seeds and mustard seeds escape). Add DRAINED vegetables. Bring to boil. Pack into jars. Seal. Hint: Light a couple of candles while you're grinding the onions. It helps burn off (cook) the onion gases so they won't bother your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I lost this recipe years ago. Really glad to have it again. It is as good as it gets and SO much better than the commercial "relish" one finds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was my first adventure in canning and I couldn't be happier with the way it turned out. My only regret is that I didn't have more green tomatoes so I could make a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made some of this the first week of November and gave it to my dad for Christmas. He says it's the best relish he's ever had! I used cucumbers instead of green tomatoes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I threw in some cayenne pepper on the second batch and it added a nice flavor kick. Great on hot dogs and black eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States