Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob Woodside
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Used this recipe yesterday, but used pablano and jalepeno in place off the green bell pepper. Used the red bell, for the color. Turned out wonderful, with just a little bit of bite. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I first found and made this recipe in 2009 when we were going to have an early frost and my tomato plants were covered with green tomatoes -- including green cherry tomatoes, which I also added in. I figured out that 24 large green tomatoes weigh approximately 13.5 lbs., so I factor that in when using different sizes. The changes I made to this recipe are: 1) I make this as a hot relish, adding 18-24 jalapeno peppers (remove the seeds for medium heat), 2) I use less sugar (~ 4 cups), and 3) I remove any seeds that can be removed quickly and easily from the tomatoes as I cut them up to put in my food processor, which helps reduce the time needed to drain the tomato mixture. With these changes, I get anywhere from 15-17 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
absolutely delicious and easy to make. Tip: save the liquid drained from the tomato, pepper and onion mixture and use it as a soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is the best and most flavorful relish. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Auer Binkley
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made last year. It was wonderful. Gave to my friends and they also liked it and asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I make a very similar recipe, but it also uses green cabbage and it sets in a sprinkling of salt for a few hours or overnight and rinsed and drained before cooking and canning. Our family used this on burgers and in our tuna fish or for making tartar sauce. It's a great way to use up the leftovers from the garden...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Lou Slocum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAH ADAMS
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
THIS IS PURE AWESOMENESS!!! SO SO GOOD!! AND REALLY EASY TO MAKE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Yes & it is delicious. Working on this years batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was a great way to use all the green tomatoes that were left when it was time to take the plants out in the fall. It is delicious and we ended up using it on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States