Green Tomato Raspberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for reducing the sugar a little. Put tomatoes(the egg-sized) through the food processor, yielding about 6c. I added 5 c. sugar to that. After cooking the requisite time, I added a partial packet of liquid pectin I had sitting in the fridge (I wanted to get rid of it and knew it wouldn't hurt the recipe) along with the jello - followed the rest of the instructions. Great consistency, great color, excellent flavor. Raspberry jam is my favorite jam and in my opinion, and not to take away from the results here, this jam is more "reminiscent" of Raspberry Jam rather than seeming to be the real thing. However, I will use this recipe any time I can get my hands on more green tomatoes. This jam is certainly cheaper than making real raspberry jam, which only adds to the value of this recipe. Oh, I got 7-3/4 250ml jars of jam. Not bad for 4 c. sugar and 2 small packets of jello. I processed the jars in the canner 10 minutes. Thanks for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I have not made this yet but plan to do it today. I see that some people stated that it did not thicken and I also saw that some were going to cut down on the sugar...big mistake. The sugar needs to be in there to gel it. I have tried cutting down on sugar with regular strawberry jam and it turns out runny...fine for ice cream topping tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was the best recipe for abundant green tomatoes. I loved it, kids love it! I did toast with cream cheese, topped with jelly, heaven on earth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this last year with strawberry jello, was not so good but we ate it. This year I will try the rasberry. Thanks Jeanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I'd give this more stars if I could. Kids, young and old, love this. But don't tell the little ones that it's made with green tomatoes. They'll turn up their noses. Just tell them it's raspberry and they'll want mo', mo', mo'!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I shared this with my Father-in-law. We both love that we can utilize all our tomatoes. No more waste! No one has been able to tell that the jam was made without any berries. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
OMG!! I can't believe these taste sooo good. And I mean they as I made all different kinds after the Raspberry came outso well. Gave a jar to neighbor and her 4 yr old gobbled it up with crackers. Hers was orange Jam. The only change I made was to reduced the sugar by almost half. I like sweet but it was a bit too sweet. I made this with Orange, Cranberry (had this for Thanksgiving) and Strawberry in addition to the original Raspberry. Would have loved to give these in jars for Xmas gifts but all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Made a half batch, which filled 4 half-pint jars. Processed in a water bath for about 10 minutes to seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
The only reason I gave this 4 stars is for the changes I made, but I give the concept 5 stars!! Due to texture issues, I peeled the tomatoes first, put them in the blender for a bit, then strained out the seeds. I also reduced the sugar to 3 cups, then boiled it on a lower heat until it had condensed quite a bit. We experimented with different flavors of Jello (by halving the recipe, you only have to use 1 box) and, other than the color, they were all great. The red turned out the best as far as color goes. My favorite part is that I can use all the end of the season tomatoes from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is pretty good jam, a little on the sweet side but still not bad. The only problem I had was it was so thick it would not spread, but I put it in the microwave for abot 20 seconds and this did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States