Green Tomato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Suspend your disbelief--green tomato slices look nothing like apple, but both my husband and 16 year old son said "It really DOES taste like apple pie!" My slight changes were to double the amount of flour for a 9" deep dish pie (and it still needed more, tomatoes are very runny!) and a tiny bit of molasses. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was a total failure. I followed it to the letter, yet after the prescribed bake time it was clearly not done. I baked it an additional 30 minutes, but still ended up with a pie plate full of hard, uncooked green tomato chunks in a watery sauce that ran all over the plate when I tied to serve it. I was so angry and disapponted that I had wasted my time and resources on it. Definitely use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarrieHansen
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I followed the advice of the reviewers who were concerned the pie was too soupy, and used an additional 2 TBS flour, and 2 TBS corn starch for the filling mixture. It was a great consistency. I wish I had chopped the tomatoes finer. The flavor was good and though it's not my favorite pie, it was a nice change and a good way to use up those tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This pie is amazing. It really DOES taste just like a very good apple pie. I had such fun fooling people! I made it the first time just for my husband and myself. When I told him what I was making, he looked at me with a less than positive reaction! However, as he was eating it, I kept hearing him mumble, "I don't understand how this can taste like this. I just don't understand it." Now - the juice thing - yep, it will explode with juice - so - I used a cup of flour and scooped the tomatoes into the crust, leaving a lot of juice mixture in the bottom of the bowl. Worked perfectly. I have made 6 of them in the past two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Surprisingly delicious! Not runny--see below. I gave it four stars just because I'd still rather have an apple pie, but for my purpose--to use up my green tomatoes, it's a great recipe. My tomatoes were green green, not pink. I used probably about 1/4 or 1/3 c cornstarch in addition to the flour and I drained the filling before adding to the pie shell. I also baked at 400 for 20 minutes, then an hour or so at 350. It would have been too runny if I took it out at an hour--if it's runny, bake it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was runny for me even after adding 3/4 cup flour. It also took a full hour to bake, and the filling still had a lot of crunch. I couldn't get over the slight weirdness of the taste, at least not without going deep a la mode! Overall it was really interesting; I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was the first time I'd ever tasted green tomato pie, and was quite happy with the result. It wasn't perfect, but with a few tweaks next time, it should be! I used very green tomatoes (no red/orange), and should have cut them a little smaller, since they remained slightly crunchy. Next time I will also let the tomatoes strain in a colandar to remove more of the liquid prior to cooking. The pie was a bit watery when it came out of the oven, but it jelled into a heavy syrup when it cooled. The flavor was good; much like apple pie as noted. Next time I will use more cinnamon and omit the other spices. I prefer just cinnamon in apple pie, so likely will prefer it alone in green tomato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeasonsForSuccess.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
What a great thing to do with all those green tomatos at the end of the season. I peeled and deseeded the tomatoes and cut them up fairly fine. I also used the mature green tomatos as one person recommented. I did add a good 1/2 cup flour because others said to do that. Next time I will cut the tomatoes even finer. I think a food processor would work. The flavor was perfect. I also cut the sugar back to a strong 1 cup. I will make again every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My husband and I both liked this, but would prefer apples. It was a good way of using the green apples at the end of the season. I also added a little more flour as suggested and had to cook it 40 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very good recipe. I had to cook mine for 1 hour, and added extra flour as suggested and it came out with the same consistency as apple pie - really. There is an unusual aftertaste, so just don't expect it to taste just like apple pie. Also, I don't know if I needed to, but I peeled the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States