Green Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
A co-worker made this pie and it's delicious. The only change she made was to add about a teaspoon of freshly ground nutmeg. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was the nastiest "desert" I ever made. It was second only to the chocolate souffle when I forgot to add the sugar...chocolate scrambled eggs...Come to think of it, that was better than this. Water ran out of the pie followed by a syrup that was the consitancy of library glue. The tomatoes were still chrunchy and the color was repulsive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
No one could guess it! They all loved it though! I used ripe tomatoes, but the flavor tastes the same as apple pie very much. NOTE: Eat it fresh, not refrigerated (the tomato flavor comes out after a while if you use fresh toms)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is excellent!!! Tastes awesome and my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandi21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
my kids love "almost apple pie" so much that they cleaned out the tomato garden asking for it! The recipe is a little too juicy and does need more flour, or another thicking agent to get the right consistency. It is also helpful to cut the tomatoes into smaller, more bite sized pieces, before baking because tomatoes dont hold their shape once cooked and they relax into long noodly shapes that are awkward to eat as pie. Otherwise, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Pretty good pie, though the aftertaste is a bit off. Definitely would need more flour, as mine came out very runny. I ran out of white sugar and had to use brown and that worked out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
At first, we were pleasantly surprised with this pie's flavor, but the tomatoes needed to be chopped more instead of sliced, and the consistency was a little runny. Maybe mixing in a few apples would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Way too much lemon. So I'm back to looking for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audeen Rubio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tensandtwenties
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
WOW! This was Fantastic! I never thought of making a pie with green apples until I skimmed through the site and saw this one. I had a basket full of green tomatos which were the last from my garden and wanted to make something different other than fried green tomatos and saw this recipe. I had an extra large pie pan so I made a larger batch than what the recipe noted. When it baked I was surprised that it smelled like apple pie and then you could smell the green tomatos. When it finished it even looked and tasted like apple pie. To me it was best cold with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of Hershey's syrup. I was so proud of it I even took photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tensandtwenties
Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States