Green Tomato Pasta Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by karatebartender
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I added 3 cloves of garlic, a chicken buillion cube and pesto, for the finish, sprinkled some grated parmesan cheese. It was so good. I think I would try this adding shrimp and clam sauce in a place of chicken buillon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karatebartender

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
mmmmmm. This was very good. I added garlic with the tomatoes because it seemed like it needed it. I also added a little cajun seasoning for some spunk. I would definately try this. It's a great way to use green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
I served this one night when my mother was over for dinner; actually it was she who found and suggested the recipe. She enjoyed it, but I did not like it at all. I found the tomatoes very sour/bitter. I liked the pasta and cheese part though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This just "WOWED" my family. I added garlic, thyme, oregano, and basil (all fresh from my garden), but did so delicately. This is a recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this for lunch today, and was pleasantly surprised. Instead of pasta, we served it over rice. I followed the suggestions of others, and added creole seasoning and garlic. Great recipe though. Definitely will make it again :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artsyme

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was a unique blend of flavors, and I would probably make it again if I had more green tomatoes I needed to use. For the leftovers, I added some garlic salt, goat cheese, and a dash of balsamic vinegar for a little more flavor. This made a very affordable main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
a great recipe to use green tomatoes! Thanks a lot! I would have thrown them away without this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Thoughts: this is a fast, easy, and surprisingly sophisticated recipe to make on short notice in the summer. I used rotini which is just what I had around. I also ground quite a bit of pepper, to my taste. The kids gobbled it up and I didn't bother with garlic, chicken broth, etc. I like all of those flavors but this recipe seems to work well if you keep it simple. So that is my tip--don't over think it, and let the tomatoes and cheese take center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I have a lot of green tomatoes and had a package of feta wasting away in my fridge, so this recipe was the perfect solution! A really neat way to use up green tomatoes too. I used half a stick of butter instead of olive oil, added 2 cloves minced garlic, and my feta was sundried tomato basil flavor. We were quite curious about how the recipe would turn out and it ended up being great! Next time I'm going to cut back on the cheese or else just sprinkle with a little grated parmesan because as good as the dish was, the feta flavor dominated over the tomato flavor. We liked it enough though that I plan to just cook some noodles and toss in a bit of butter and feta if I need a quick, easy dinner sometime in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Awesome! I changed the recipe quite a bit, though, the 2nd time I used it. I'm watching my weight, so I used spaghetti squash instead of regular pasta. I also traded butter for the oil to make it creamier, but left out the feta and added fresh basil and oregano. I like celery seed, so I added that, too. I agree that it is a very elegant and unique dish that can be served to guests and combined in many different ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States