Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of butter. The cake was delicious, especially with a dollop of vanilla fat free yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe. I love it. I did do two things wrong and it still was amazing. I put only two cups of green tomatoes, and secondly I was forgot to skin the green tomatoes and just diced them up really small. The green tomatoes actually are not like red tomatoes and the skins did not come off and were not chewy. In fact I really couldn't tell you where the pulp began and the skin started. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
WOW! Great cake! The only change I made was to puree the green tomatoes (skins, seeds, everything) drain for 30 minutes and use 2 cups of the puree rather than 4 cups of diced tomatoes. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Easy and lots of fun at any big gathering! I took this cake to our local garden club meeting(they all have LOTS of green tomatoes at summers end!) It's an easy to throw together cake(I didn't salt or drain the chopped tomatoes...too lazy, and my Roma's aren't very juicy to start with). I topped it off with a cream cheese frosting, so whats not to like?. I'm sure you can play around with lots of spices to your own taste. I think I'll be making this cake quite often during the next couple of weeks while the garden winds down. Might even try a chocolate version? Give it try, if for no other reason than to use up some of those many green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Unbelievabley moist. Didn't need to peel tomatoes so save yourself some work. I didn't have raisins but had sultana's and added some chopped apricots. Cream cheese frosting finished it off perfectly. Took into work and everyone loved it. Will make again next year when I have more green tomatoes. Thanks Glenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZARDAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narre Warren, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Ignore your first reaction to the name of the cake and give it a try! It is a delicious and easy spice cake. The tomatoes dissappear when cooked but they leave the cake beautifully moist. Just don't tell anyone the main ingredient until after they have tried it. I used a caramel icing from this site and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
a wonderful moist cake and a good conversation piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I couldn't imagine what the final product would taste like and we were amazed at how moist and delicious the cake is. Thank you for a new Family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Terrific recipe...thanks for sharing!!! I omitted the walnuts and doubled the raisins and it was absolutely yummy!! No one believed me that it was made with green tomatoes! Next time I am going to try it with apples instead of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was delicious. No body could believe me when I told them the name of the cake. Had to share recipe with everyone. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States