Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
WOW! Great cake! The only change I made was to puree the green tomatoes (skins, seeds, everything) drain for 30 minutes and use 2 cups of the puree rather than 4 cups of diced tomatoes. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of butter. The cake was delicious, especially with a dollop of vanilla fat free yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe. I love it. I did do two things wrong and it still was amazing. I put only two cups of green tomatoes, and secondly I was forgot to skin the green tomatoes and just diced them up really small. The green tomatoes actually are not like red tomatoes and the skins did not come off and were not chewy. In fact I really couldn't tell you where the pulp began and the skin started. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This a really good, moist cake--but I made a couple of alterations based on what other reviewers suggested. In my opinion, the best way to handle the tomatoes is to dice them and remove the seeds, then put them in a food processor--pulse until they are in small pieces but not liquified. Then I followed the recipe (put them in a colander, salt, rinse; let them drain). I also suggest cutting the nutmeg back to half a teaspoon. I also added an extra egg since I am at a high altitude (over 5,000 ft.) I like the cake with a cream cheese icing, but my husband likes it plain. One kind of funny thing about this cake is that it tastes better than it smells or looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe was surprisingly very good, and it used up many of my green tomatoes easily. I made a few changes to the recipe, using splenda instead of sugar and nut flour instead of regular flour. I also used a cream cheese frosting which tasted wonderful as another reviewer suggested. The only thing I would advise is to be sure to cut the tomatoes into small pieces. I cut mine into average sized pieces and they could easily be seen and looked strange in the dish. Next time I will be sure to cut them small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Easy and lots of fun at any big gathering! I took this cake to our local garden club meeting(they all have LOTS of green tomatoes at summers end!) It's an easy to throw together cake(I didn't salt or drain the chopped tomatoes...too lazy, and my Roma's aren't very juicy to start with). I topped it off with a cream cheese frosting, so whats not to like?. I'm sure you can play around with lots of spices to your own taste. I think I'll be making this cake quite often during the next couple of weeks while the garden winds down. Might even try a chocolate version? Give it try, if for no other reason than to use up some of those many green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Unbelievabley moist. Didn't need to peel tomatoes so save yourself some work. I didn't have raisins but had sultana's and added some chopped apricots. Cream cheese frosting finished it off perfectly. Took into work and everyone loved it. Will make again next year when I have more green tomatoes. Thanks Glenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZARDAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narre Warren, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
No one at work guessed the green specks were tomatoes. I frosted it with a cream cheese frosting which I added cinnamon to. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
I took this to my family reunion and everybody complemented on it. Nobody could believe it was so good and made with green tomatoes. This is definitely a #1 recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
It is a really good cake, can't even tell there is green tomato in it. Nice and moist. It was a little time consuming, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States