Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Love this cake! I too used applesauce instead of the butter. So moist and excellently spiced. We ate it without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I know this sounds like something on a top 10 worst foods ever.... but it is amazing!!! I shared it with some people and everyone loved it. One guy was almost on the floor when I told him it was green tomato cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I have to admit, I was skeptical, but this was really good! I made it for my Bible study group and everyone loved it. No one even knew they were eating a cake made with green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this for Christmas with cream cheese icing. I loved it and it was a great way to use up some of my green tomatoes. I was getting tired of baking/frying them. It wasn't much of a hit with everyone else, though. My kids didn't eat it and about half of the adults liked it. I probably won't make it again because I can't eat it all by myself! I may try it with a different icing or incorporate the tomatoes into a bread instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I just drained the chopped green tomatoes in a collinder before adding to the batter. I skipped the salting step. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. Results were great. Iced with cream cheese icing, tastes just like a carrot cake. Even the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly but did not skin/seed the tomatoes since they were small. I topped with powdered sugar. Very good cake, fantastic way to use up green tomatoes. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I was hesitant- using green tomatoes in a cake. But, the cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is so delicious! I have been experimenting with green tomato recipes and used the last of my green tomatoes for this. Now I wish I had more green tomatoes! This is a definite keeper for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Wonderful! Everyone loved it and some were VERY surprised at how delicious it was. Threw the green tomatoes in food processor but stopped at small bit stage (don't puree). Excellent. Good to freeze drained tomatoes in 4C freezer bags for a future cake! This cake tastes surprisingly like a carrot cake for those of you not too sure about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Wow, this was great! Perfect recipe, as written. It was delicious, like a moist apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States