Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I really tried this as an experiment since I have so many green tomatoes and was very pleasantly surprised. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cups, left out the nuts, used golden raisins, and added some diced candied ginger. The cake was really great, no icing needed. Next time I will definitely cut the tomatoes much more finely, but even so it's a great-tasting, easy, and healthy cake that I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I bought a bunch of green tomatoes at our local produce stand and couldn't wait to try something new with them (I'd only ever had them fried before). Tried this green tomato cake and oh my WOW was it good!!! The only changes I made- added a bit of vanilla, omitted the raisins and subbed pecans for the walnuts. I also baked it in a tube pan and didn't even frost it as I had planned to because it was so perfectly moist and delicious as is! My 5 year old twin daughters aren't green tomato fans, so I told them it was green apple cake and they happily gobbled it up! My husband and I couldn't believe how much it tasted like apples either. We have found a new transition-into-fall recipe that's sure to be a staple around here- thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Surprisingly very delicious! Similar to carrot cake, but even better. This is actually one of the best cakes I've had, especially with a cream cheese frosting (I blended 2 of the most popular recipes on this site): (For a 9x13 cake) 8 oz cream cheese 1/4 - 1/2 cup butter, softened (I used 3/8 cup) 2-4 cups confectioners' sugar (I did closer to 2.5 cups, so it wasn't too sweet... I like more cream cheese than sugar, but you can make it more sweet) 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I was very skeptical that this would be good, but it is delicious. What a great way to use up all those end of summer tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is really good. I added white chocolate chips and about three times the cinnamon. Even my very skeptical hubby thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Simple and delicious. I used a food processor to chop the tomatoes and ended up with 3 cups instead of 4. Didn't really hurt the end result. I also substituted 1/4 cup of AP flour with whole wheat pastry flour. The cake was a little too sweet for my taste so next time I'll reduce the sugar amount unless I have more green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Love this cake! I too used applesauce instead of the butter. So moist and excellently spiced. We ate it without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I know this sounds like something on a top 10 worst foods ever.... but it is amazing!!! I shared it with some people and everyone loved it. One guy was almost on the floor when I told him it was green tomato cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I have to admit, I was skeptical, but this was really good! I made it for my Bible study group and everyone loved it. No one even knew they were eating a cake made with green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this for Christmas with cream cheese icing. I loved it and it was a great way to use up some of my green tomatoes. I was getting tired of baking/frying them. It wasn't much of a hit with everyone else, though. My kids didn't eat it and about half of the adults liked it. I probably won't make it again because I can't eat it all by myself! I may try it with a different icing or incorporate the tomatoes into a bread instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States