Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This cake is delicious! I didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries, and a sweet cream cheese icing. I am only disappointed that I won't be able to make this cake year round! My tomatoes next spring may never have a chance to turn red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I pureed the tomatoes first, but I think they make it taste incredibly eggy. The texture is really weird too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This cake is amazing! I made this this morning and brought it to my friends at the pharmacy and they were freaking out!!! When I told them what the main ingrediant is they were totally shocked! Especially one of the staff! She was literally stunned being that she hates tomatoes no matter what color! Well, thanks for the recipe I will definitely make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
OMG I baked this cake and while I was making it I was praying that it would be good because I do not even like tomatoes. After I baked it I dusted it with confectioners sugar and put in fridge. To tell the truth I was kind of scared it try it because I thought it was going to be nasty because I do not like tomatoes. But when my husband came home I gave him a piece and waited for his reaction. He loved it! I decided to taste it as well and it was AWESOME. I cooked it in a bundt pan as well with no problems. LOL I can't believe a TOMATO cake can be soooo good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Fabulous! Loved this recipe, what a great idea to use up all those tomatoes that are still green at the end of summer. I am lactose intolerant so I used my lactose free margarine and icing sugar with fruit juice for the frosting, thanks. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ferrer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This cake is great! I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Really good recipe. I used puree and always double the spices in whatever I cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Really good! I made a couple of changes - I did not add salt to the dry ingredients as the tomatoes are already salted (didn't miss the additional salt), used 1/2 c applesauce instead of butter, and (like a quick bread recipe), instead of creaming the butter/applesauce with the sugar, I mixed the dry ingredients together and all the wet ingredients together, then stirred the dry into the wet. Even my skeptical husband ("What?! Green tomatoes?") loved it. Will make again NEXT year with any green tomatoes we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I decided to put the batter in muffin tins. Bad idea. They tasted great but were very ugly. I am sure that the cake form is probably more presentable. Very fun way to use green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very tasty, moist cake. I didn't measure or drain the tomatoes. The cake is very forgiving as far as adapting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATESJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States