Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Finely diced the tomatoes - took to a tomato tasting party, and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it - and it is easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very good! I can sliced green tomatoes to fry throughout the winter. I used those to make the cake and it was really good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
All I can say is YUM! That's all I've ever heard from anyone who has eaten it. I pureed my tomatoes and used two cups as a reviewer suggested and used cinn. applesauce for half the butter. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Great way to finish the crop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLISKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and everyone loved it! I doubled the cinnamon, and cut the nutmeg in half (based on another reviewer). Also, made sure that my tomatoes were minced. My husband isn't a cake fan in general, but said he loved this one. Said it reminded him of carrot cake. I frosted it with cream cheese frosting. I plan to make several and freeze them, while the tomatoes are still on the vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I'm up to my ears in green tomatoes, and this was a great way to use up a few. I've made the recipe twice, with a couple of alterations each time. The first time I used half whole wheat and half white flour and the second time I used half whole wheat and half oat flour. It was good both ways. On the second batch I ran out of walnuts so I used some hazelnuts in their place, and I think I actually like the hazelnuts better. Both times I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and left out the raisins. I still think it's sweet enough not to need frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I followed other advice....put the tomatoes in the food processor and squeezed the liquid out and then measured 2c. of the puree. Other than that, I made no changes. Excellent by itself...and really yummy with some cream cheese frosting. NOBODY can guess what this is made from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this for the 1st time today and took it to a football party. Followed the recipe exactly, dicing the tomatoes by hand, and frosted the cake with cream cheese frosting. I got A LOT of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I didnt think that I would like this because it was so hard to stir (and not "Pour") I used Stevia (2/3 of a cup) and my husband LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
WHAT A FLAVOR !!!!!! Followed the receipe exactly, would never have guessed it would have turned out so good, Green Tomatoes who knew!! Moist and sweet would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States