Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very moist and tasty. I measured and salted the tomatoes per the recipes. I then rinsed and blotted dry. I pulsed the tomatoes in the food processor until very fine. I also used fresh ground nutmeg and I added a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. No frosting and took the cake to work. Everyone liked it and they were all surprised that is was a green tomato cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Tried it! Loved it! Really moist and delicious! Saved wasting the good ones from our blighted crop x Thank you x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine E Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Excellent. Super moist. Made as directed (but only enough tomatoes for half a recipe in a 8X8 pan). Super moist. Frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
awesome...no change at all, perfect...even the kids loved it. took a little longer to cook in my oven though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe, it is now my mom's favorite cake, to bad you can only have it during green tomato season. Well unless you think ahead and freeze some of those last of the season tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Romeoville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I accidentally doubled the butter, and it still came out well, especially with the cream cheese frosting that I made. Will definitely make this one again, as we always have green tomatoes from our garden at the end of summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I needed to use up a bunch of green tomatoes so I decided to try this despite not really thinking that it could taste good. I'm so glad that I tried because it's fantastic. I'm going to make another batch tomorrow to use of the rest of the green harvest I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is absolutely THE best cake I have made all year. The only changes I made were to make it with one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown, and I used apple sauce instead of butter. Dice the tomatoes really small, and nobody would ever guess they were in it. Absolutely fantastic. Thanks so much, Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Loved this cake. I did cut back on the sugar by 1/2 a cup so it wouldn't be too sweet. I also pureed the tomatoes so it took an extra 15 min. to cook because it was so moist. So glad I tried it since I have 15+ pounds of green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Yummy! It was very moist and delicious. I did use 1/4 cup butter with 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States