Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I followed the directions and it turned out really great. No frosting, good with morning coffee too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eris8656
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very good! I changed the sugar to 1.5 cups and didn't add any nuts. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good. Never would have guessed. I took some advise from others. I chopped my tomatoes skin and seeds in the food processor, then allowed to drain in a sieve. I cut sugar to 1-3/4 cups. I used 1-1/2 cups regular flour and 1/2 cup coconut flour. I didn't have raisins so I used about 1/4 cup currents and a little more than a 1/4 cup craisins. Topped with powdered sugar. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
can't keep this long in my house! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audeen Rubio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I think this is an awesome way to use green tomatoes! I made mine with gluten free flour, cocnut oil and coconut sugar. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and it was still really good. The only thing I would do differently would be to dice the tomatoes really small. The chunks in mine may put some people off. Delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made quit a few changes using this recipe. I took out the seeds and pureed the tomatoes which turned it into 2 cups(I drained them also after puree) I used 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce instead of butter, 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of the tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg. 1 cup each of white and wheat flour and used only 1 3/4 cups sugar ( I may even go to 1 1/2 cups next time because it was still very sweet). I left out the raisins and nuts because my guys do not like them although I am sure they would have been terrific. And I made them into cup cakes which only took 15-20 min to cook. They do not even need frosting, they are so yummy and terrific with a cup of tea, coffee, or even milk. I will definitely use and suggest this recipe to my friends, It is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very moist and tasty. I measured and salted the tomatoes per the recipes. I then rinsed and blotted dry. I pulsed the tomatoes in the food processor until very fine. I also used fresh ground nutmeg and I added a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. No frosting and took the cake to work. Everyone liked it and they were all surprised that is was a green tomato cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Tried it! Loved it! Really moist and delicious! Saved wasting the good ones from our blighted crop x Thank you x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine E Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Excellent. Super moist. Made as directed (but only enough tomatoes for half a recipe in a 8X8 pan). Super moist. Frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
awesome...no change at all, perfect...even the kids loved it. took a little longer to cook in my oven though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States