Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
No one at work guessed the green specks were tomatoes. I frosted it with a cream cheese frosting which I added cinnamon to. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
It is a really good cake, can't even tell there is green tomato in it. Nice and moist. It was a little time consuming, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
I took this to my family reunion and everybody complemented on it. Nobody could believe it was so good and made with green tomatoes. This is definitely a #1 recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I made this cake exactly as written. Everyone thought it was delicious and very very moist. This a great way to use up even the smallest green tomato left on vine. Hope to see more recipes using green tomatoes. If you don't have green tomatoes, later I think I'll tey carrots or apples. It reminded me of carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
My children were so happy for the frost to be here so we have green tomatoes to make this cake. We eat it like a snack cake with no icing - scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Since we have a short growing period in Nebraska, the green tomato cake is a perfect solution for all the extra green tomatoes. With the cream cheese frosting, it is very similar to a carrot cake, and I get many compliments and am asked for the recipe whenever I serve this moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I can't believe how moist it is! Tastes even better after it sits for a day. We would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe. I love it. I did do two things wrong and it still was amazing. I put only two cups of green tomatoes, and secondly I was forgot to skin the green tomatoes and just diced them up really small. The green tomatoes actually are not like red tomatoes and the skins did not come off and were not chewy. In fact I really couldn't tell you where the pulp began and the skin started. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Ignore your first reaction to the name of the cake and give it a try! It is a delicious and easy spice cake. The tomatoes dissappear when cooked but they leave the cake beautifully moist. Just don't tell anyone the main ingredient until after they have tried it. I used a caramel icing from this site and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
a wonderful moist cake and a good conversation piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States