Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is really good. I added white chocolate chips and about three times the cinnamon. Even my very skeptical hubby thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Simple and delicious. I used a food processor to chop the tomatoes and ended up with 3 cups instead of 4. Didn't really hurt the end result. I also substituted 1/4 cup of AP flour with whole wheat pastry flour. The cake was a little too sweet for my taste so next time I'll reduce the sugar amount unless I have more green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Love this cake! I too used applesauce instead of the butter. So moist and excellently spiced. We ate it without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I know this sounds like something on a top 10 worst foods ever.... but it is amazing!!! I shared it with some people and everyone loved it. One guy was almost on the floor when I told him it was green tomato cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I have to admit, I was skeptical, but this was really good! I made it for my Bible study group and everyone loved it. No one even knew they were eating a cake made with green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this for Christmas with cream cheese icing. I loved it and it was a great way to use up some of my green tomatoes. I was getting tired of baking/frying them. It wasn't much of a hit with everyone else, though. My kids didn't eat it and about half of the adults liked it. I probably won't make it again because I can't eat it all by myself! I may try it with a different icing or incorporate the tomatoes into a bread instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I just drained the chopped green tomatoes in a collinder before adding to the batter. I skipped the salting step. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. Results were great. Iced with cream cheese icing, tastes just like a carrot cake. Even the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly but did not skin/seed the tomatoes since they were small. I topped with powdered sugar. Very good cake, fantastic way to use up green tomatoes. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I was hesitant- using green tomatoes in a cake. But, the cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is so delicious! I have been experimenting with green tomato recipes and used the last of my green tomatoes for this. Now I wish I had more green tomatoes! This is a definite keeper for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States