Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Excellent! I replaced the butter with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, used 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and used pecans. Family loved it, didn't even need frosting it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is the nicest change from Tomato relish, fried, pies, etc. The flavors are well balanced and it keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I HAD SOME GREEN TOMATOES THAT I WANTED TO USE AND FOUND THIS RECIPE. IT IS REALLY FANTASTIC. IT DOESN'T NEED FROSTING. I ONLY PUT IN 1 1/2 CUPS OF SUGAR THE FIRST TIME I MADE IT AND THOUGHT IT WAS TOO SWEET SO THIS MORNING I MADE ANOTHER ONE AND ONLY USED I CUP OF SUGAR. WILL SEE HOW THAT GOES. I AM GLAD I FOUND THIS RECIPE. I LIKE TO MAKE DIFFERENT THINGS TO USE UP MY GARDEN BOUNTY. I ALSO MADE THE GREEN TOMATO LASAGNA AND LOVED IT. I MADE 8 QTS OF GREEN TOMATO MINCEMEAT. LOVE THIS SITE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Taste is great! The little green squares of green tomato in the cake are a little strange though. Could substitute the tomato for another fruit that has lots of liquid in it and reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
So glad I found this recipe! I have so many green tomatoes this year. The cake is great and so now I'm off to make about 3 more to use up these tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Decker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was awesome! Tastes like Spanish bar cake.Very moist- do drain tomatoes. I squeezed the water out after pulsing in food pro per other reviews. I used 2 cups tomatoes, decreased sugar by 1/2 c, subbed half the butter with applesauce, used 1 c raisins and no nuts. Very very good. Best was seeing my son't face when I told him what it was lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Love this cake. Works great with grapes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Best tasting Green tomato cake ever!!! Will make it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
One of our NEW favorites!! SUPER moist and easy to make!!! 5 stars all the way around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Super moist & delicious! Some people guessed that I had put apple in it too (it does resemble an apple cake) but I didn't. I followed the recipe to the letter & was not disappointed. Next time I might put a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States