Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was surprisingly good. After making the cake, I made the recipe again,but put it in bread pans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is a great moist cake. I usually put the batter into 2 8x8 pans, because I can freeze one cake for later. It is so rich it goes a long way. I've frosted with the crem cheese frosting, and I've also just packed coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is my first Green Tomato Cake. I was using up some tomatoes from my garden. I followed the recipe with one exception of cutting nutmeg down to a dash instead of a tsp because I find nutmeg to be overpowering at times. I used a food processor to 'chop' the tomatoes. The baked cake looks really bad and unappetizing. But the flavor is great! The texture is of between banana bread and apple pie. I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting. This is a great way to use up leftover green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I had a few tomato plants that got hit by an early frost. So I had all these green tomatoes on the plants. My dd said that we should make something with them. So of course we checked allrecipes for a suitable recipe. I was skeptical at making a green tomato cake but based on the reviews we tried this recipe. I diced the tomatoes and got 4 cups. I then pureed the tomatoes and that measured 2 cups. I didn't have nutmeg so I substituted 1/4 tsp. cloves. I omitted raisins as I don't like them in baked goods. I added pecans as that is what I had on hand. After I added the pureed tomatoes I thought it had a peculiar green tinge so I added another 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon. I frosted the cake with a caramel frosting. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I HATE tomatoes and was unsure about trying this recipe. However, it was one of the best cakes I've had in a long time. It tasted like a carrot cake and everyone that tried it loved it. I made it with cream cheese frosting but plan to try caramel next time. Don't be afraid to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This cake is delicious! I didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries, and a sweet cream cheese icing. I am only disappointed that I won't be able to make this cake year round! My tomatoes next spring may never have a chance to turn red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I pureed the tomatoes first, but I think they make it taste incredibly eggy. The texture is really weird too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This cake is amazing! I made this this morning and brought it to my friends at the pharmacy and they were freaking out!!! When I told them what the main ingrediant is they were totally shocked! Especially one of the staff! She was literally stunned being that she hates tomatoes no matter what color! Well, thanks for the recipe I will definitely make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
OMG I baked this cake and while I was making it I was praying that it would be good because I do not even like tomatoes. After I baked it I dusted it with confectioners sugar and put in fridge. To tell the truth I was kind of scared it try it because I thought it was going to be nasty because I do not like tomatoes. But when my husband came home I gave him a piece and waited for his reaction. He loved it! I decided to taste it as well and it was AWESOME. I cooked it in a bundt pan as well with no problems. LOL I can't believe a TOMATO cake can be soooo good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Fabulous! Loved this recipe, what a great idea to use up all those tomatoes that are still green at the end of summer. I am lactose intolerant so I used my lactose free margarine and icing sugar with fruit juice for the frosting, thanks. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbiecookie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States