Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Great cake and so very moist. I diced my tomatoes in an onion dicer. Turned out super great. I used 1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce instead of butter. Will ice them with cream cheese icing when they cool. Tastes like carrot cake! I also put mine in muffin tins and baked for 15-20 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Only 3 Weight Watchers points plus based on these modifications: replaced all of the butter with unsweetened applesauce, reduced sugar to 1.5 cups, and replaced walnuts with chocolate chips (only because I love chocolate). Baked in a parchment-lined pan for 38 minutes and it came out very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was surprisingly good. After making the cake, I made the recipe again,but put it in bread pans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is a great moist cake. I usually put the batter into 2 8x8 pans, because I can freeze one cake for later. It is so rich it goes a long way. I've frosted with the crem cheese frosting, and I've also just packed coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is my first Green Tomato Cake. I was using up some tomatoes from my garden. I followed the recipe with one exception of cutting nutmeg down to a dash instead of a tsp because I find nutmeg to be overpowering at times. I used a food processor to 'chop' the tomatoes. The baked cake looks really bad and unappetizing. But the flavor is great! The texture is of between banana bread and apple pie. I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting. This is a great way to use up leftover green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I had a few tomato plants that got hit by an early frost. So I had all these green tomatoes on the plants. My dd said that we should make something with them. So of course we checked allrecipes for a suitable recipe. I was skeptical at making a green tomato cake but based on the reviews we tried this recipe. I diced the tomatoes and got 4 cups. I then pureed the tomatoes and that measured 2 cups. I didn't have nutmeg so I substituted 1/4 tsp. cloves. I omitted raisins as I don't like them in baked goods. I added pecans as that is what I had on hand. After I added the pureed tomatoes I thought it had a peculiar green tinge so I added another 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon. I frosted the cake with a caramel frosting. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I HATE tomatoes and was unsure about trying this recipe. However, it was one of the best cakes I've had in a long time. It tasted like a carrot cake and everyone that tried it loved it. I made it with cream cheese frosting but plan to try caramel next time. Don't be afraid to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This cake is delicious! I didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries, and a sweet cream cheese icing. I am only disappointed that I won't be able to make this cake year round! My tomatoes next spring may never have a chance to turn red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I pureed the tomatoes first, but I think they make it taste incredibly eggy. The texture is really weird too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This cake is amazing! I made this this morning and brought it to my friends at the pharmacy and they were freaking out!!! When I told them what the main ingrediant is they were totally shocked! Especially one of the staff! She was literally stunned being that she hates tomatoes no matter what color! Well, thanks for the recipe I will definitely make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States