Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
excellent use of green tomatoes! Lovely, moist cake...definitely make cream cheese icing with this....!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A VERY moist and delicious cake! No taste of green tomatoes at all! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I modified this cake almost beyond recognition, so it may not be accurate for me to review it. However, it was still a good use for green tomatoes, so this is what I did: Pureed about eight cups of green tomatoes that I mashed in a fine-meshed strainer to yield four cups (no salt added). I combined this with a cup of okara and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Separately I combined the flour (all whole wheat) with 3/4 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp stevia, the salt, spices, baking pwd, and walnuts. I added the wet to the dry and added about 1/4 cup soymilk. Baked at 350 for about 75 minutes. I topped it with a simple powdered sugar glaze flavored with maple extract. It was quite tasty, but very dense and moist. If I end up with a bunch of green tomatoes again next year, I might resurrect this recipe and attempt a new modification to get it more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Great cake and so very moist. I diced my tomatoes in an onion dicer. Turned out super great. I used 1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce instead of butter. Will ice them with cream cheese icing when they cool. Tastes like carrot cake! I also put mine in muffin tins and baked for 15-20 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Only 3 Weight Watchers points plus based on these modifications: replaced all of the butter with unsweetened applesauce, reduced sugar to 1.5 cups, and replaced walnuts with chocolate chips (only because I love chocolate). Baked in a parchment-lined pan for 38 minutes and it came out very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was surprisingly good. After making the cake, I made the recipe again,but put it in bread pans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is a great moist cake. I usually put the batter into 2 8x8 pans, because I can freeze one cake for later. It is so rich it goes a long way. I've frosted with the crem cheese frosting, and I've also just packed coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is my first Green Tomato Cake. I was using up some tomatoes from my garden. I followed the recipe with one exception of cutting nutmeg down to a dash instead of a tsp because I find nutmeg to be overpowering at times. I used a food processor to 'chop' the tomatoes. The baked cake looks really bad and unappetizing. But the flavor is great! The texture is of between banana bread and apple pie. I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting. This is a great way to use up leftover green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I had a few tomato plants that got hit by an early frost. So I had all these green tomatoes on the plants. My dd said that we should make something with them. So of course we checked allrecipes for a suitable recipe. I was skeptical at making a green tomato cake but based on the reviews we tried this recipe. I diced the tomatoes and got 4 cups. I then pureed the tomatoes and that measured 2 cups. I didn't have nutmeg so I substituted 1/4 tsp. cloves. I omitted raisins as I don't like them in baked goods. I added pecans as that is what I had on hand. After I added the pureed tomatoes I thought it had a peculiar green tinge so I added another 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon. I frosted the cake with a caramel frosting. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I HATE tomatoes and was unsure about trying this recipe. However, it was one of the best cakes I've had in a long time. It tasted like a carrot cake and everyone that tried it loved it. I made it with cream cheese frosting but plan to try caramel next time. Don't be afraid to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States