Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was delicious and reminds me of carrot cake or zucchini cake. I pureed my green tomatoes...as is...didn't peel or seed them and I don't see the need to do either. Followed directions otherwise (salting and letting them drain) and only used about 2 cups of puree. Frosted it with cream cheese frosting and everyone wanted second and third helpings! This will be a repeat for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I omitted the nuts and raisins and pureed my tomatoes before adding them to the batter and it was great! I also used 1 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp cloves instead of the 1 tsp nutmeg(since I am not a big nutmeg fan). Will be making this again, such a soft, moist cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Wonderful!! I pureed my as well as others suggested. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I was SHOCKED at how moist this cake was!! I did not have nuts or raisins so I left the larger tomato chunks in and it blew away any zucchini cake I have ever made. I can't wait for next year's crop of tomatoes! AWESOME recipe! One of the best I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This cake was excellent. I followed the recipe to the letter, well I did peel the tomatoes, the recipe didn't call for that. I read the reviews and thought, everyone of those people can't be wrong. I have hundreds of tomatoes and had to do something so was looking for recipes for tomatoes green or red and this is what came up. I couldn't wait to see what a cake tastes like with tomatoes in it. My family and I love carrot cake, carrots are vegetables. It was great, make it with cream cheese icing and without. Everyone loves it. I will be taking this to our family reunion next Saturday and see their reactions. I have already had to give the recipe out to others. The picture posted looks just like what you get. Yum......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamstown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This recipe is surprising, fun and delicious. I made it for my family first after reading all of the reviews here and they loved it. I then made it for a July 4th party and it was a HUGE hit. This recipe is one of my all-time favorites. When you make this for the first time, don't panic because the batter seems really thick (almost like cookie dough). It will get better when the diced tomatoes are added, although it is still thicker than most other cake recipes I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was really good. Thanks. Now to come up with a name that won't send the masses running for the hills.... how about Garden Fruit Cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I had such an over abundance of green tomatoes at the end of last year, I was trying to find something I could make out of them. This was an excellent choice! It was a perfect coffee cake and honestly, when l I told people what was in it, they hardly believed me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
What a wonderful way to use the left over green tomatoes. I did make one change. I do not like nutmeg so I used 1 tsp. allspice and 1/4 tsp. cloves along with the cinnamon. Also, I am on a salt restricted diet so I did not put salt with the tomatoes when I drained them. I just drained them a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sk8ermom1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I found myself with an abundance of green tomatoes, living in the midwest, after the first freeze. I found this recipe and was tickled. I did follow the recipe pretty much except I processed four cups of green tomatoes in a food processor and skipped the soaking them in salt water part. I strained the juice off with a collander for about 15 minutes. I used pecans and topped the cake with cream cheese frosting! I COULD NOT believe how great this cake is! Too bad we don't have green tomatoes year round! I highly recommend trying it. It's wonderful and thanks so much for sharing this with us. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States