Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This cake is so good!! My husband who does not like green tomatoes loved it.You cannot even tell there are green tomatoes in it. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was awesome. Frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is one of the best spice cakes I've ever had. The tomatoes almost taste like apples! Very good. It doesn't need frosting but I used an orange glaze over the top the second time I made it. You have to try this! BTW: I did not use the walnuts. . . I didn't have them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have joined Allrecipes just so I can rate this cake - it is the BEST use of green tomatoes that I know! I pureed the tomatoes and did not use the salt/drain (we are a low-salt family. I also used 1/2 c. egg substitute, and 1 cup sugar/1 cup Splenda. It tastes so good that it disappears in no time. Don't even need frosting. I would give it 6 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
AWESOME!!!!!! I used pumpkin pie spice and it worked well. Very moist ~ nobody guessed it was made with green tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meegs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Awesome! I had lots of green tomatoes to use up and this was delicious. I threw 5 cups of tomatoes in the blender with a little water and then strained them - ended up being about 2 cups. I topped with Cream Cheese Frosting - what a delicious recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made a vegan version of this cake for my sister's birthday (she's a vegan). I substituted vegan butter for the dairy butter and used egg replacer for the eggs. I added a cup of maple syrup because I only had three cups of sugar. I topped the cake with shredded coconut instead of frosting. It turned very good. I left the tomatoes in fairly large chunks and liked it that way; their sourness reminded me of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was delicious and reminds me of carrot cake or zucchini cake. I pureed my green tomatoes...as is...didn't peel or seed them and I don't see the need to do either. Followed directions otherwise (salting and letting them drain) and only used about 2 cups of puree. Frosted it with cream cheese frosting and everyone wanted second and third helpings! This will be a repeat for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I omitted the nuts and raisins and pureed my tomatoes before adding them to the batter and it was great! I also used 1 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp cloves instead of the 1 tsp nutmeg(since I am not a big nutmeg fan). Will be making this again, such a soft, moist cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Wonderful!! I pureed my as well as others suggested. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I was SHOCKED at how moist this cake was!! I did not have nuts or raisins so I left the larger tomato chunks in and it blew away any zucchini cake I have ever made. I can't wait for next year's crop of tomatoes! AWESOME recipe! One of the best I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States