Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I get rave reviews every time I make this. A MUST make with those left over green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I really was hoping to like this recipe and I did!!!It was great. I brought it to a family function and no one could believe it was made from tomatoes. I pureed the tomatoes and accidentally forgot to rinse off the salt before adding it to the batter. Yikes! I added cream cheese frosting to cover up the salty taste and it worked. No one noticed. I will keep portioned frozen green tomato puree in my freezer just for this recipe. Tastes just like a carrot cake. This is also a great recipe to try for extra green tomatoes http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/mexina-salsa-verde/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
So yummy. I make muffins/cupcakes with this recipe. I've made several batches in the past two weeks and have pureed some tomatoes to stock my freezer. Everyone I've given them to is amazed that there's tomato in them. I don't use the raisins or nuts - don't need them. This recipe is great with or without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
What an excellent way to use up green tomatoes. I also pureed and drained the tomatoes rather than chopping. Really easy and cake is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I really wasn't sure how this cake was going to taste! It smelled "funny" and looked awful before it was baked but the results were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great recipe when those tomatoes don't turn red! I pureed the green tomatoes and used 2 cups. I substituted 1/2 c. canola oil for the butter and used 1 1/2 c. white sugar. Topped with cream cheese frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I make a lot of cakes for people and I take a lot of requests. This may become everyone's favorite! It is moist and so delicious! I think next time I will cut back a little on the sugar, but overall it is one of the best cakes I have ever made. I didn't even frost it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I'm hooked!! I didn't use any sugar - instead I used 2 bananas and 2 Tbsp of honey. I'm not sure I'd use the honey again, don't think it needs it. Wow!! What a total surprise on how great this cake is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
i took this cake to work and it was gone in an hour. used cream cheese frosting. had a coworker offer me money to make it again if i had more tomatoes in the garden!! it is FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was great as written (did not add walnuts). My husband kept saying "wow" as he ate it. I left the tomato pieces semi-large (~1/2 inch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States