Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Love this recipe!! I was leery at first because green tomatoes did not sound appetizing but this recipe was wonderful. Thank you so much. I had followed the healthy recommendations from J. Nelson and it turned out perfect. This is a definite keeper! I only wish I had more green tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Joined a community garden here in Brooklyn this year and we had so many green tomatoes still on the vines last week. I needed an easy recipe to use them up and this is it....no one guess there were green tomatoes inside and everyone loved how moist this bread was. I used raisins instead of the nuts and this was a great substitution. THANKS AGAIN for coming to the rescue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
A neighbor gave me a great many green tomatoes, which was wonderful!I have now made this recipe twice! Very moist and flavorful. It disappears in my house in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Terrific recipe--thanks for sharing! I tend to cut the sugar by a half cup or so, and I sometimes use a food processor to puree the tomatoes if I have a bunch of smaller ones that I don't want to chop. I've also used nutmeg when I'm out of cinnamon, which is also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe if fantastic for the end of the season green tomatoes. Followed the recipe exactly as posted. Husband and I both loved the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EUFAULATWIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
yes it was great. I add dried cranberries and add 3 eggs cut sugar too 1-1/2 cups Nice Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlovers2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great great idea, but it was kind of bland. I put extra walnuts but that is the only change I made. Maybe using 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar instead of 2 cups white. It lacked some depth. Next time I will try the brown sugar and I bet that will make it perfect as it definitely had great texture and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Love it. was not to keen at first about using green tomatoes, I made 1 loaf and 3dz mini muffins. I did use 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar as suggested. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have not tried this recipe but a loaf was given to me by a friend and I can't believe just how delicious this is. I will definitely be making it, no alterations to the recipe, if I'm lucky enough to have greenies next year. Not a very successful garden for me this year and no greenies, but hope springs eternal and there's always next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
this recipe is wonderful!! I did not add the nuts as we have children who don't like nuts. I decreased the oil to 3/4 cup and added 1 egg instead as I needed the moisture as I had chopped the tomatoes. My hubby wishes we had more green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States