Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Similar to a banana bread. Followed recipe exactly and it came out great. I made 2 dozen muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made four loaves of this bread to use up my greenies. I followed the recipe except used half brown sugar half white sugar. I also took the advice of another review and drained the juice of the tomatoes before adding it to my bread. I think I drained it too much though, because it was a little dry. I really liked it, and will make it again. Especially because our dogs liked it too. They stole 3 of the 4 loaves right off the cooling rack! : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Tasted just like zucchini bread. The only change I made was using 1/2 cup applesauce in place of 1/2 cup oil. I used a food processor to chop the tomatoes, and it worked fine. Just make sure to drain them before adding them to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This was wonderful.I will make this all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Welch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very delicious bread! The tomato pieces give it an unusual taste... almost like if pineapple pieces were used... I didn't tell anyone what I put and they really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a dense sweet bread recipe that I'll definitely keep and make again. I was looking for ways to use up some of the green tomatoes left in my garden, and this is going to be a favorite. I made the recipe as written, with the note that I drained the tomatoes very well after chopping. It turned out great. Because of the high sugar content, I'm glad I used non-stick pans and greased and floured. Turn the loaves out of the pans before they cool too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Would have never thought of this for using up an abundance of tomatoes. It is awesome!! I am going to make some to keep in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was so good. I did one loaf, and a bunch of muffins, I cooked the muffins for 26 minutes and topped them with blueberries before putting them in the oven. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Sinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Love this recipe!! I was leery at first because green tomatoes did not sound appetizing but this recipe was wonderful. Thank you so much. I had followed the healthy recommendations from J. Nelson and it turned out perfect. This is a definite keeper! I only wish I had more green tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Joined a community garden here in Brooklyn this year and we had so many green tomatoes still on the vines last week. I needed an easy recipe to use them up and this is it....no one guess there were green tomatoes inside and everyone loved how moist this bread was. I used raisins instead of the nuts and this was a great substitution. THANKS AGAIN for coming to the rescue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States