Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have not tried this recipe but a loaf was given to me by a friend and I can't believe just how delicious this is. I will definitely be making it, no alterations to the recipe, if I'm lucky enough to have greenies next year. Not a very successful garden for me this year and no greenies, but hope springs eternal and there's always next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
this recipe is wonderful!! I did not add the nuts as we have children who don't like nuts. I decreased the oil to 3/4 cup and added 1 egg instead as I needed the moisture as I had chopped the tomatoes. My hubby wishes we had more green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tastes like other quick breads but so much more moist. I drained the chopped tomatoes for a bit, and I'm glad I did. I will be making this recipe every year to use up my green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I've used this recipe two years in a row and loved it! I don't use quite as many nuts as it calls for, just as a personal preference. But other than that, as is it is fantastic! Always a hit with everyone who tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I used 1/2 cup walnuts and 1 cup dark chocolate chips. I also used 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 2 teaspoons of almond extract. My 5 guests gobbled it up and were amazed that green tomatoes can taste so fabulous. I did another batch also where I substituted the oil for canni-butter and added an extra egg. Also, super fabulous yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavonne_tobias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is an excellent and unexpected recipe.It is great as is, but I made a few changes to make it a bit healthier. Changed sugar out for 1 1/2 cups agave nectar. Changed to white wheat flour (King Arthur brand). Lowered the oven temp to 325, and it turned out perfect. Got raves from everyone even someone who does not eat tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Friend gave me green tomatoes and told me to try this recipe. So surprised - everyone loves it. Freezes well. Have loaves in freezer now ready to go. Took review advice and chopped tomatoes by hand. Will make this bread again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe is very similar to other quick bread recipes that call for either zucchini, carrots, apples, etc. If you put enough sugar in any recipe you will most likely end up with something tasty and this is no exception. It is delicious, and unless you tell someone they will probably never guess what the mystery ingredient is. My loaves fell somewhat in the middle, but I live at a high altitude (5,000) so that happens frequently to my baked goods until I can adjust the leaving, etc. I will make this again but it may be another year because I don't think I can buy green tomatoes at the market. If I have enough green tomatoes I might try making muffins as that may solve the falling in the middle issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I made several changes to make recipe healthier. I cut sugar to 1 cup and substituted 2/3 c. Agave Nectar. Cut oil in 1/2 and added 1/2 c. applesauce. Substituted 4 egg whites for the eggs. Used 2 c. white flour and 1 c wheat. I will make again and again. It's an excellent use of all those green tomatoes I've got left in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Excellent! Thank you very much for this recipe. It is very good, extremely simple to make and a wonderful use of the green tomatoes I have. I diced the green tomatoes by hand and had no problem with too much liquid. Also had no problem with it sticking to the pan...I used one of those silicone loaf pans, sprayed it with a little cooking oil spray and lightly dusted the pan with flour. I will definitely make this again - I may try substituting agave nectar for the white sugar the next time I try it to see if I can make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States