Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Joined a community garden here in Brooklyn this year and we had so many green tomatoes still on the vines last week. I needed an easy recipe to use them up and this is it....no one guess there were green tomatoes inside and everyone loved how moist this bread was. I used raisins instead of the nuts and this was a great substitution. THANKS AGAIN for coming to the rescue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
A neighbor gave me a great many green tomatoes, which was wonderful!I have now made this recipe twice! Very moist and flavorful. It disappears in my house in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Terrific recipe--thanks for sharing! I tend to cut the sugar by a half cup or so, and I sometimes use a food processor to puree the tomatoes if I have a bunch of smaller ones that I don't want to chop. I've also used nutmeg when I'm out of cinnamon, which is also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe if fantastic for the end of the season green tomatoes. Followed the recipe exactly as posted. Husband and I both loved the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EUFAULATWIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
yes it was great. I add dried cranberries and add 3 eggs cut sugar too 1-1/2 cups Nice Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ruston
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great great idea, but it was kind of bland. I put extra walnuts but that is the only change I made. Maybe using 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar instead of 2 cups white. It lacked some depth. Next time I will try the brown sugar and I bet that will make it perfect as it definitely had great texture and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Love it. was not to keen at first about using green tomatoes, I made 1 loaf and 3dz mini muffins. I did use 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar as suggested. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have not tried this recipe but a loaf was given to me by a friend and I can't believe just how delicious this is. I will definitely be making it, no alterations to the recipe, if I'm lucky enough to have greenies next year. Not a very successful garden for me this year and no greenies, but hope springs eternal and there's always next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
this recipe is wonderful!! I did not add the nuts as we have children who don't like nuts. I decreased the oil to 3/4 cup and added 1 egg instead as I needed the moisture as I had chopped the tomatoes. My hubby wishes we had more green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tastes like other quick breads but so much more moist. I drained the chopped tomatoes for a bit, and I'm glad I did. I will be making this recipe every year to use up my green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States