Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Would have never thought of this for using up an abundance of tomatoes. It is awesome!! I am going to make some to keep in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was so good. I did one loaf, and a bunch of muffins, I cooked the muffins for 26 minutes and topped them with blueberries before putting them in the oven. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Sinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Love this recipe!! I was leery at first because green tomatoes did not sound appetizing but this recipe was wonderful. Thank you so much. I had followed the healthy recommendations from J. Nelson and it turned out perfect. This is a definite keeper! I only wish I had more green tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Joined a community garden here in Brooklyn this year and we had so many green tomatoes still on the vines last week. I needed an easy recipe to use them up and this is it....no one guess there were green tomatoes inside and everyone loved how moist this bread was. I used raisins instead of the nuts and this was a great substitution. THANKS AGAIN for coming to the rescue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
A neighbor gave me a great many green tomatoes, which was wonderful!I have now made this recipe twice! Very moist and flavorful. It disappears in my house in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Terrific recipe--thanks for sharing! I tend to cut the sugar by a half cup or so, and I sometimes use a food processor to puree the tomatoes if I have a bunch of smaller ones that I don't want to chop. I've also used nutmeg when I'm out of cinnamon, which is also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe if fantastic for the end of the season green tomatoes. Followed the recipe exactly as posted. Husband and I both loved the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EUFAULATWIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
yes it was great. I add dried cranberries and add 3 eggs cut sugar too 1-1/2 cups Nice Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlovers2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great great idea, but it was kind of bland. I put extra walnuts but that is the only change I made. Maybe using 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar instead of 2 cups white. It lacked some depth. Next time I will try the brown sugar and I bet that will make it perfect as it definitely had great texture and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Love it. was not to keen at first about using green tomatoes, I made 1 loaf and 3dz mini muffins. I did use 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar as suggested. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States