Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I made several changes to make recipe healthier. I cut sugar to 1 cup and substituted 2/3 c. Agave Nectar. Cut oil in 1/2 and added 1/2 c. applesauce. Substituted 4 egg whites for the eggs. Used 2 c. white flour and 1 c wheat. I will make again and again. It's an excellent use of all those green tomatoes I've got left in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is an easy to prepare and highly delicious bread. My son said to me, 'wow this is really good. You can't taste the tomato.' He then took another large slice. This is a wonderful way to use your leftover green tomatoes at season's end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Great way to use up my green tomatoes after the freeze outside. I used a food processor to grate the tomatoes and then strained them before adding as recommended by another comment. I also used vegetable oil instead of canola and 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okoboji, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Turned out good. Much like zucchini bread but without the little chewy squash strands in it. One problem I did have was I diced the tomatoes in a food processor and just measured it out as is. I propose that if anyone else uses a food processor to strain the liquid out of your tomatoes before adding them to the bowl. My loaves came out a bit too wet and one stuck to the pan and ripped in half. Also, the edges come out so much better in a glass pan than a metal pan. Very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe is very similar to other quick bread recipes that call for either zucchini, carrots, apples, etc. If you put enough sugar in any recipe you will most likely end up with something tasty and this is no exception. It is delicious, and unless you tell someone they will probably never guess what the mystery ingredient is. My loaves fell somewhat in the middle, but I live at a high altitude (5,000) so that happens frequently to my baked goods until I can adjust the leaving, etc. I will make this again but it may be another year because I don't think I can buy green tomatoes at the market. If I have enough green tomatoes I might try making muffins as that may solve the falling in the middle issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Excellent! Thank you very much for this recipe. It is very good, extremely simple to make and a wonderful use of the green tomatoes I have. I diced the green tomatoes by hand and had no problem with too much liquid. Also had no problem with it sticking to the pan...I used one of those silicone loaf pans, sprayed it with a little cooking oil spray and lightly dusted the pan with flour. I will definitely make this again - I may try substituting agave nectar for the white sugar the next time I try it to see if I can make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was so good. I did one loaf, and a bunch of muffins, I cooked the muffins for 26 minutes and topped them with blueberries before putting them in the oven. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Sinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Love this recipe!! I was leery at first because green tomatoes did not sound appetizing but this recipe was wonderful. Thank you so much. I had followed the healthy recommendations from J. Nelson and it turned out perfect. This is a definite keeper! I only wish I had more green tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Joined a community garden here in Brooklyn this year and we had so many green tomatoes still on the vines last week. I needed an easy recipe to use them up and this is it....no one guess there were green tomatoes inside and everyone loved how moist this bread was. I used raisins instead of the nuts and this was a great substitution. THANKS AGAIN for coming to the rescue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
A neighbor gave me a great many green tomatoes, which was wonderful!I have now made this recipe twice! Very moist and flavorful. It disappears in my house in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States