Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I made several changes to make recipe healthier. I cut sugar to 1 cup and substituted 2/3 c. Agave Nectar. Cut oil in 1/2 and added 1/2 c. applesauce. Substituted 4 egg whites for the eggs. Used 2 c. white flour and 1 c wheat. I will make again and again. It's an excellent use of all those green tomatoes I've got left in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Great way to use up my green tomatoes after the freeze outside. I used a food processor to grate the tomatoes and then strained them before adding as recommended by another comment. I also used vegetable oil instead of canola and 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okoboji, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is an easy to prepare and highly delicious bread. My son said to me, 'wow this is really good. You can't taste the tomato.' He then took another large slice. This is a wonderful way to use your leftover green tomatoes at season's end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Turned out good. Much like zucchini bread but without the little chewy squash strands in it. One problem I did have was I diced the tomatoes in a food processor and just measured it out as is. I propose that if anyone else uses a food processor to strain the liquid out of your tomatoes before adding them to the bowl. My loaves came out a bit too wet and one stuck to the pan and ripped in half. Also, the edges come out so much better in a glass pan than a metal pan. Very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was so good. I did one loaf, and a bunch of muffins, I cooked the muffins for 26 minutes and topped them with blueberries before putting them in the oven. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Sinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I used 1/2 cup walnuts and 1 cup dark chocolate chips. I also used 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 2 teaspoons of almond extract. My 5 guests gobbled it up and were amazed that green tomatoes can taste so fabulous. I did another batch also where I substituted the oil for canni-butter and added an extra egg. Also, super fabulous yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavonne_tobias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is an excellent and unexpected recipe.It is great as is, but I made a few changes to make it a bit healthier. Changed sugar out for 1 1/2 cups agave nectar. Changed to white wheat flour (King Arthur brand). Lowered the oven temp to 325, and it turned out perfect. Got raves from everyone even someone who does not eat tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Friend gave me green tomatoes and told me to try this recipe. So surprised - everyone loves it. Freezes well. Have loaves in freezer now ready to go. Took review advice and chopped tomatoes by hand. Will make this bread again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made four loaves of this bread to use up my greenies. I followed the recipe except used half brown sugar half white sugar. I also took the advice of another review and drained the juice of the tomatoes before adding it to my bread. I think I drained it too much though, because it was a little dry. I really liked it, and will make it again. Especially because our dogs liked it too. They stole 3 of the 4 loaves right off the cooling rack! : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a dense sweet bread recipe that I'll definitely keep and make again. I was looking for ways to use up some of the green tomatoes left in my garden, and this is going to be a favorite. I made the recipe as written, with the note that I drained the tomatoes very well after chopping. It turned out great. Because of the high sugar content, I'm glad I used non-stick pans and greased and floured. Turn the loaves out of the pans before they cool too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States