Green Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Surprisingly moist and tasty! I only had roughly 1 cup of green tomatoes so I halved the recipe. I used the recipe, but with changes, not because I didn't think it would be fantastic, but for health reasons, and wanted to share my good results encase anyone was in the same boat. I made it diabetic friendly, heart healthy, and egg-less, due to severe allergy. The sugar was replaced with half Truvia baking blend and half their brown sugar blend. I subbed applesauce for the oil. I used white whole wheat flour. For the egg I went with a 'flax-egg' instead of an egg replacement product for the added healthy fat to keep the bread from being rubbery. I was so happy that the bread came out moist, great texture, and taste. House smelled wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Puckett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I used sunflower oil,instead of canola, used 1 cup white sugar & 1 cup coconut sugar, and added about 3/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut. I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Similar to a banana bread. Followed recipe exactly and it came out great. I made 2 dozen muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made four loaves of this bread to use up my greenies. I followed the recipe except used half brown sugar half white sugar. I also took the advice of another review and drained the juice of the tomatoes before adding it to my bread. I think I drained it too much though, because it was a little dry. I really liked it, and will make it again. Especially because our dogs liked it too. They stole 3 of the 4 loaves right off the cooling rack! : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Tasted just like zucchini bread. The only change I made was using 1/2 cup applesauce in place of 1/2 cup oil. I used a food processor to chop the tomatoes, and it worked fine. Just make sure to drain them before adding them to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This was wonderful.I will make this all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Welch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very delicious bread! The tomato pieces give it an unusual taste... almost like if pineapple pieces were used... I didn't tell anyone what I put and they really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a dense sweet bread recipe that I'll definitely keep and make again. I was looking for ways to use up some of the green tomatoes left in my garden, and this is going to be a favorite. I made the recipe as written, with the note that I drained the tomatoes very well after chopping. It turned out great. Because of the high sugar content, I'm glad I used non-stick pans and greased and floured. Turn the loaves out of the pans before they cool too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Would have never thought of this for using up an abundance of tomatoes. It is awesome!! I am going to make some to keep in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was so good. I did one loaf, and a bunch of muffins, I cooked the muffins for 26 minutes and topped them with blueberries before putting them in the oven. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Sinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States