Green Tea Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The muffin didn't taste like muffin nor did it raise like one. It was dense, kind of like a mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I was very unpleased with this recipe. The result was very very dense, even thought I increased the baking powder to 1 and half tsp. As many people mentioned dryness, I reduced the flour to 1 and half cups. It wasn't dry, but it was just so dense that it couldn't have been dry anyway. I like my green tea taste a little stronger, so I increased the powder to 3 tablespoons. That was probably the only saving grace of the whole result- it had a nice green tea flavor. But this recipe is not even worth retrying, there are so many better recipes out there that won't yield such a dense result without a bunch of modifications. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyjoytay
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I am a newbie in baking, but it was so delicious. I followed the steps exactly! :) thank you for the recipe! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
First, thanks for sharing the recipe. However, it is not a good recipe for me. I have added the double amount of the matcha green tea powder(around 2-1/2 tbsp), but it came out no taste of it. They don't really look like "muffins". The "muffin" is really chewy, not the texture of a muffin/cake. Anyways, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My co-workers loved these! They are a very moist and dense muffin, but it works well! I did use oil instead of butter and added about a tablespoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by rocha
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocha
Home Town: Changsha, Hunan Province, China
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Cyn
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
After following the recipe to a "T" (which is how I think these recipes should always be reviewed), there's really not a lot of flavor to these. Personally I couldn't taste the matcha in them at all, just a slight hint of sugar. I'd definitely double up the green tea next time. These did bake up nicely in 25 mins though, very moist and no hint of brown, just a pretty green colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Quite tasty! I used agave nectar to sweeten instead of sugar, I also replaced 2/3 cup of all purpose flour with whole grain flour. (wanted this to be a healthier option for my 3 year old to snack on) You can really taste the Matcha, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
so good.. i altered the recipe a little a they turned out most and lighter. I cut down the flour to 1 1/3 used canola oil instead of butter and 1 cup of vanilla soy milk used mini liners( all i had) at 350 for 18 min made a lemon honey drizzle to top them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are great for breakfast! I prefer them as mini-muffins (325° for about 18 minutes). I also double the matcha and cut the sugar (I use turbinado) by half. Instead of walnuts, I add chopped pecans, hemp seed, sunflower seed and ground flax seed. Wonderful and nutritious! They are delicious warmed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States