Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Uke Mochi
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
it is a easy to make recipe and the cake is very light and refreshing; I only use one cup of sugar. It tastes good without frosting. I use mini loaf pans instead. This recipes yields 4 mini loaves. everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made this recipe as written, except I made it into cupcakes rather than a layer cake. It was outstanding. They got rave reviews. I recommend using the matcha powder. It is a little expensive, but you only use a little, and it really imparts a delicious, fresh green tea flavor. So so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
My modifications: 2 C all purpose flour, 4-6 tsp matcha (green tea) powder (depending on how subtle/strong you want the green tea taste to be), 3/4 - 1 C white sugar (depending on how much of a sweet tooth you have), and 3/4 C canola oil or 1 C butter (softened). If you use butter for the cake batter, make sure you beat it well with the sugar before adding the eggs. Beat eggs one at a time, and beat well before each addition. Also, instead of beating the flour mixture and yoghurt, fold flour and yoghurt alternately into the batter as quickly as possible. Bake in a single 8-9" round pan, and slice in half horizontally once cooled. For the icing, I used 4 tsp matcha, 4 tbsp butter (softened), icing sugar (to taste), 150g cream cheese, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1 1/2 tsp milk, and 1 C whipped cream. To make the icing, combine all ingredients EXCEPT the whipped cream and beat until smooth. Fold in whipped cream quickly and lightly. Refrigerate for at least half an hour before icing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhakshi Gamage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This cake turned out nice and moist. Loved it! Definitely something I'll be making again. The icing was really good too. Oh, I forgot to add the vanilla extract for both the cake and icing part and they both seemed with enough flavor, maybe for the next time I'll try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was great just the way it was. Hubby generally dislikes cake and baked goods but this isn't too sweet and he ate more than his share of his birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
great cake I'd just add more green tea powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cansas Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
not bad at all. i love green tea itself and so, i thought this would be a great treat for the whole family. i added more green tea powder than the recipe called for because i thought it needed a more "green tea" flavor to it. then, as i baked the second layer i noticed that the amount of green tea frosting wouldn't be nearly enough to frost the whole cake. i made more (not measuring anything admittedly) and was able to cover the whole cake from top to bottom. i will try this recipe on cupcakes next time and see how it turns out. meanwhile, i have yet to cut the cake! can't wait to taste the finished product. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I just finished baking this cake for the first time and wow it's delicious! I didn't change a thing from the recipe and it came out perfect. The cake is very moist and the icing compliments the cake very well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used two cups of all-purpose flour as I didn't have any cake flour on hand. I made more frosting than was called for; I used about 8 oz cream cheese instead of 3 oz, and I used a bit more of the other ingredients to balance it. However, I did not put any butter in the frosting. It came out great without the butter. For the cake, I used about 1/3 cup olive oil and 2/3 cup apple sauce. I used pure matcha powder that I had ordered from MySpice Sage. If you like green tea desserts, it's worth buying some matcha powder. It will last a long time because a little goes a long way. Green tea from teabags does NOT taste the same. It came out nice and light and the frosting is delicious. Next time, I might add raisins or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I followed t recipe and love it! Even my husband who doesn't like cakes said its nice! I also made 19 cup cakes (330'F, 15 min - conv oven) out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States