Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
great cake I'd just add more green tea powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cansas6254

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
not bad at all. i love green tea itself and so, i thought this would be a great treat for the whole family. i added more green tea powder than the recipe called for because i thought it needed a more "green tea" flavor to it. then, as i baked the second layer i noticed that the amount of green tea frosting wouldn't be nearly enough to frost the whole cake. i made more (not measuring anything admittedly) and was able to cover the whole cake from top to bottom. i will try this recipe on cupcakes next time and see how it turns out. meanwhile, i have yet to cut the cake! can't wait to taste the finished product. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I just finished baking this cake for the first time and wow it's delicious! I didn't change a thing from the recipe and it came out perfect. The cake is very moist and the icing compliments the cake very well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used two cups of all-purpose flour as I didn't have any cake flour on hand. I made more frosting than was called for; I used about 8 oz cream cheese instead of 3 oz, and I used a bit more of the other ingredients to balance it. However, I did not put any butter in the frosting. It came out great without the butter. For the cake, I used about 1/3 cup olive oil and 2/3 cup apple sauce. I used pure matcha powder that I had ordered from MySpice Sage. If you like green tea desserts, it's worth buying some matcha powder. It will last a long time because a little goes a long way. Green tea from teabags does NOT taste the same. It came out nice and light and the frosting is delicious. Next time, I might add raisins or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I followed t recipe and love it! Even my husband who doesn't like cakes said its nice! I also made 19 cup cakes (330'F, 15 min - conv oven) out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fantastic recipe! It's so moist and easy to make. At first, the frosting was a bit too sweet, but I just added a little more cream cheese and butter and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
LOVE IT! Tried it last night. I halved the recipe and I misread the instruction. I added the yoghurt together with the oil and sugar. It turned out fine. Next time, I've to add the green tea powder to 5-6gr instead of 4 because I can barely taste it. Yielded 9 cupcakes and I reduced the baking time to 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This cake was fantastic! It's very moist and has a definite green tea flavor. The icing supports the flavors nicely. I love taking this one to dinner parties and potlucks because there is no fear that I might be bringing a duplicate of something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Tasted so good. Lots of people who tried it liked that it was not to sweet. i really liked the frosting. I didn't have the green tea powder so I just added the tea from green tea bags for the cake. for the frosting i used our coffee grinder to grind the leafs up a little more. worked really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Best recipe for green tea cake! Normally green tea food is special for people to like but this one is a hit among all! I think the cake flour and yogurt ingredients made this incredible. I did cupcakes instead of cake and it was wonderful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States