Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was great just the way it was. Hubby generally dislikes cake and baked goods but this isn't too sweet and he ate more than his share of his birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
great cake I'd just add more green tea powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cansas6254

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
not bad at all. i love green tea itself and so, i thought this would be a great treat for the whole family. i added more green tea powder than the recipe called for because i thought it needed a more "green tea" flavor to it. then, as i baked the second layer i noticed that the amount of green tea frosting wouldn't be nearly enough to frost the whole cake. i made more (not measuring anything admittedly) and was able to cover the whole cake from top to bottom. i will try this recipe on cupcakes next time and see how it turns out. meanwhile, i have yet to cut the cake! can't wait to taste the finished product. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I just finished baking this cake for the first time and wow it's delicious! I didn't change a thing from the recipe and it came out perfect. The cake is very moist and the icing compliments the cake very well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used two cups of all-purpose flour as I didn't have any cake flour on hand. I made more frosting than was called for; I used about 8 oz cream cheese instead of 3 oz, and I used a bit more of the other ingredients to balance it. However, I did not put any butter in the frosting. It came out great without the butter. For the cake, I used about 1/3 cup olive oil and 2/3 cup apple sauce. I used pure matcha powder that I had ordered from MySpice Sage. If you like green tea desserts, it's worth buying some matcha powder. It will last a long time because a little goes a long way. Green tea from teabags does NOT taste the same. It came out nice and light and the frosting is delicious. Next time, I might add raisins or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I followed t recipe and love it! Even my husband who doesn't like cakes said its nice! I also made 19 cup cakes (330'F, 15 min - conv oven) out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fantastic recipe! It's so moist and easy to make. At first, the frosting was a bit too sweet, but I just added a little more cream cheese and butter and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
LOVE IT! Tried it last night. I halved the recipe and I misread the instruction. I added the yoghurt together with the oil and sugar. It turned out fine. Next time, I've to add the green tea powder to 5-6gr instead of 4 because I can barely taste it. Yielded 9 cupcakes and I reduced the baking time to 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This cake was fantastic! It's very moist and has a definite green tea flavor. The icing supports the flavors nicely. I love taking this one to dinner parties and potlucks because there is no fear that I might be bringing a duplicate of something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Tasted so good. Lots of people who tried it liked that it was not to sweet. i really liked the frosting. I didn't have the green tea powder so I just added the tea from green tea bags for the cake. for the frosting i used our coffee grinder to grind the leafs up a little more. worked really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States