Green-Tea Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've never been a fan of green tea, the beverage, but I love green tea flavoured things. I thought I would give this recipe a shot anyway. Like another reviewer, I used all fatty options, but I used 1/2c oil and 1/2c applesauce. I also took the advice of another reviewer and cut the sugar to 3/4c and used 1/4c of honey, as well as cut the almond extract completely (I happen to not have any on hand). They turned out great! I decided to make a honey glaze with vanilla almond milk on top and it added just a little more hint of sweetness, but I think they could have done without either way. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Loooooove these cupcakes! So easy, fun, and tastey to make! I just frost it with a little whip cream and it makes a light refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
maybe i did it wrong but my cupcakes did not turn out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
After reading the other reviews I addressed the dryness by using 2 whole eggs instead of just the whites, I used full fat ingredients, and I added a dollop of sour cream. I halved the almond extract and used 3 tablespoons of matka powder. I also used 3/4 cup sugar 1/4 cup raw honey. There's nothing better than green tea with honey! Cupcakes are moist and delicious, and full of antioxidants and calcium. For frosting I used cream cheese, honey, powdered sugar and a splash of milk. These aren't going to last long around here! Thanks for the recipe and the reviews. One more thing - it took me under an hour not the 2 hours it states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
i used all fatty options (butter, whole egg, sugar) and reduced almond extract (1/2 tsp instead of 1tsp). The color is an awesome green (reminds me oscar from sesame st in an affectionate way) but the green tea flavor just doesn't come out. almond is wayyy to strong of an extract to go with such a gentle flavor. i think i'll omit the almond all together next time so i dont' just have a fluffy, green almond cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These colorful cupcakes are so fun, and the almond flavor is really nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Even though I only had regular all purpose flour, they turned out just lovely. I'm just slightly disappointed that I can't taste the green tea flavor at all; the almond extract is a little overpowering. So I would cut that in half and cut the sugar a little (I'm not much of sweets lover) next time. My vanilla may be adding to the taste of the almond extract too much as well, it's a slightly stronger flavoured (from the Dominican) than most. But we'll see next time when I cut the almond. Oh I made an icing for them with 1/2 a cream cheese container, a little milk, a little butter, fresh squeezed lemon juice, and icing sugar -confectioners if that's what u call it. Dipped all 11 cupcakes (one seemed to disappear) upside down in the bowl of icing and voila! Oh ya then I sprinkled a little matcha powder on top through a tea strainer. so puurrty. now i gotta do somethin with the left over icing hmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this for some green tea fans and it was well received. However, they were at bit dry after 20 min, so I tried them at 17 and 15 min, and 15 minutes was the winner. I foolishly bought matcha tea bags (which is powder plus tea leaves) instead of powder, but just used my coffee grinder to make my own powder. It gave a beautifully rustic green color to the cakes, although I'm sure it would have looked more "delicate" if I had started w/ the real powder. I made a simple glaze out of confectioner's sugar, non fat milk, and lemon juice (to taste) and dyed it a pastel green. Adorned with some simple gum paste cut-out jasmine flowers and they looked a lot harder to make then they were :) All in all a good recipe - thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarinaHoliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States