Green Slime Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Perfect flavor and yes, the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I love this smoothie recipe. For a protein-packed adult version, blend: cup of yogurt or organic non fat milk 1/3 cup or less of egg beaters or similar splash of vanilla powder or extract (powder the best) handful of fresh spinach 3 - 4 fresh strawberries 1 fresh banana 1 scoop organic cold milled flax Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
easy healthy and yummy--- kids love it (might also be b/c of the name)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janetk
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I wrote this recipe. I got the idea from all the raw food blogswhen trying to cure my asthma. Spinach blends easier when frozen that is why I reccommended that. I have a vitamix so I don't have to add liquid. I do love this smoothie with pineapple juice as a few people have figured out. I wouldn't say you need to measure anything just try variations and find what you love. These are so healthy it feels good to drink them. I never thought of adding yogurt or milk, but I'm glad people like it that way too. For me the greener the better. Plus my husband and son were both forced at first to try them and now they love them. Thanks everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The recipe itself gets four stars. You really need some liquid to blend the ingredients together, or you will burn out the motor on your blender! But the idea and the blend of fruit and honey gets five stars! What a great way to get some fantastic nutrients into your diet! My husband and I loved this! My two year old hardly touched it, but I think that's because she was having trouble sipping it through a straw and refused to drink it any other way. I added quite a bit of orange juice so I could blend it, but it was still too thick. I think next time I will reduce the amount of strawberries and spinach to a cup and a half each and use fresh strawberries rather than frozen to see if I can get it to a consistency that can be sipped through a straw. I'm also thinking of trying some vanilla frozen yogurt or vanilla yogurt and vanilla soy milk rather than juice to make it more like a milk shake so I can more easily tempt my picky toddler with it. Thanks for a great idea! I will have fun experimenting with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I was looking for a quick recipe in the am due to my horrible habit of not eating breakfast and being famished by 11am! This is wonderful. I did add yogurt for the protein and to make it more filling. IMO you do not need the honey - its sweet enough as is. I also didn't use ice as I froze the banana and spinach together. You cannot taste the spinach. It really is a wonderful, quick breakfast or snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I've been trying to add more potassium to my diet so I was looking for recipes with spinach. Not only could I not taste the spinach in this it tasted so great that my husband, daughter, and myself LOVE it, and my daughter and I are picky eaters. I did add pineapple juice for liquid and left out the ice. I think next time I will use Splenda in place of honey to cut calories and carbs. But I just wanted to say THANK YOU for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nemsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was very good and I like the fact that I didn’t need yogurt. I didn’t have a banana so I used an orange instead. It was really thick and looked just like the name implied but it was oh so yummy and nutritious that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was good. Really thick, even after adding milk. I told my kids it was ice cream and they ate it up. Probably would try another smoothie recipe instead of this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made this and it was great, I didn't use banana (don't care 4 them)and I added OJ to thin it out a bit. but overall I will be making this often. Now I have to introduce it to my husband.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States