Green Slime Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The only difference I made was sub regular sugar for the honey because I was out. I used about 1 tablespoon sugar. This was what was for dinner last night with a sclice of homemade banana bread. The kids liked it a lot. I love the idea of drinking fresh, raw spinach and not even tasting it! Heres yet another great way to add raw green veggies to our diets on this site! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
i'm severely anemic throughout this pregnancy and my doc suggested that i eat more spinach and iron rich foods - this smoothie is just what i was needing with a splash of OJ to absorb the iron into my system :) you really can't taste the spinach. and since i don't have to cook the spinach i feel i'm drinking 100% of its nutrients!! thanks for the recipe janet ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anah Pham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a good and nutritious smoothie, but it definitely did have a little spinach-y aftertaste. (And I didn't use quite as much spinach as it called for.) For me, I didn't mind at all, but I had to add in some extra banana and some strawberry yogurt for my husband. The color was a little off-putting for him, but I thought it was yummy and will make this again. Definitely needs a little liquid in order to blend well if, like me, you don't have a top of the line blender. I used a little strawberry banana juice which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wow is this green. I had some leftover thawed spinach (about 3/4 cup) and made this smoothie. It was not my favorite of all that I made, but in all fairness I will try again with fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I also had some trouble mixing without any liquid. Very good flavor. I know it has spinach in it because I put it in, but you can't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is great! Can't taste the spinach at all. I did add some orange crystal light to help it blend more smoothly. Forgot to add in the honey, but it was still great! Another variation if you want it more creamy, would be to add about 1/2 cup of yogurt (vanilla would be my choice). This will be my new favorite smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I love the idea of adding such a nutritious green leaf veggie to the smoothies. I try to make all kinds of different combinations,but the one fruit I always put in all of them is chopped pineapple. I cut it up and freeze in little bags so they are ready when I make my smoothies. It adds such a good flavor to any smoothie. Bananas are good when you want extra sweetness without adding much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
As other reviewers pointed out, this recipe needs about 1/2 cup (or more, depending upon desired consistency) of water. I also didn't need the ice, because the berries were frozen (I would add ice if using fresh berries). I subbed frozen raspberries because that was all I had in the freezer and subbed agave nectar instead of honey. SUPER YUMMY and a great way to eat your spinach :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
YUM!!!! I just bought a blendtec blender and the order in which you put the ingredients in matters! Putting the banana and spinach in first helps it blend... I also used water instead of ice and added the strawberries last. The first time I made this, I used honey, the second time, I used agave and it tasted the same both times. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was very very good. I thought I would try this since I had some leftover spinach that I wanted to use up. I was a little skeptical, but my little kids(3 and 2) are even asking for more myself included. I will be adding this to my recipe box. The original recipe was perfect. I just added an orange since I have an abundance of oranges. That was great also. Thank you Janet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States