Green Slime Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Delicious! Mine turned out a darker pink color with specks of green, not "slime green" colored as in the picture. I added 6 oz (3/4 cup) pineapple juice as one recommendation suggested. All other ingredients were the same-- 2 cups each of frozen spinach & frozen strawberries, 1 banana, 2 tbsp honey and 1/2 cup ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I use this for the base of my smoothie recipes. I love it because it really fills you up! Started out with the original recipe (still 5 stars) and catered it to what I usually have on hand. I use 1/2 frozen banana, 1 - 1 1/2 cups spinach, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 4 frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup milk and a bunch of ice. Whiz it up and drink it all for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a great smoothie recipe!! I didn't put in ice but I did add a little oj and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The only difference I made was sub regular sugar for the honey because I was out. I used about 1 tablespoon sugar. This was what was for dinner last night with a sclice of homemade banana bread. The kids liked it a lot. I love the idea of drinking fresh, raw spinach and not even tasting it! Heres yet another great way to add raw green veggies to our diets on this site! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
i'm severely anemic throughout this pregnancy and my doc suggested that i eat more spinach and iron rich foods - this smoothie is just what i was needing with a splash of OJ to absorb the iron into my system :) you really can't taste the spinach. and since i don't have to cook the spinach i feel i'm drinking 100% of its nutrients!! thanks for the recipe janet ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anah Pham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a good and nutritious smoothie, but it definitely did have a little spinach-y aftertaste. (And I didn't use quite as much spinach as it called for.) For me, I didn't mind at all, but I had to add in some extra banana and some strawberry yogurt for my husband. The color was a little off-putting for him, but I thought it was yummy and will make this again. Definitely needs a little liquid in order to blend well if, like me, you don't have a top of the line blender. I used a little strawberry banana juice which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wow is this green. I had some leftover thawed spinach (about 3/4 cup) and made this smoothie. It was not my favorite of all that I made, but in all fairness I will try again with fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I also had some trouble mixing without any liquid. Very good flavor. I know it has spinach in it because I put it in, but you can't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is great! Can't taste the spinach at all. I did add some orange crystal light to help it blend more smoothly. Forgot to add in the honey, but it was still great! Another variation if you want it more creamy, would be to add about 1/2 cup of yogurt (vanilla would be my choice). This will be my new favorite smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I love the idea of adding such a nutritious green leaf veggie to the smoothies. I try to make all kinds of different combinations,but the one fruit I always put in all of them is chopped pineapple. I cut it up and freeze in little bags so they are ready when I make my smoothies. It adds such a good flavor to any smoothie. Bananas are good when you want extra sweetness without adding much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States