Green Slime Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Both my girls (5 & 8) asked me to add more spinach next time; that in itself makes this a 5 star recipe :) I used a few splashes of apple juice to help blend everything together. Could not taste the spinach at all! Even my picky husband drank it and said tasted like strawberry/banana smoothie. Ours came out more brown than green. Next time I'll add extra spinach and half the strawberry. Do not think the honey is needed so will skip that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I didn't use have any bananas and I used a vanilla EAS low carb protein shake to add some liquid and it was still quite tasty. I've always been skeptical of drinking my veggies but this has won me over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I've made this several times now. We love a healthy, non-dairy, cold drink in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Really great basic smoothie recipe! I omitted the water and added 1/4 cup of plain greek yogurt and then about 1/2 cup of non-fat milk. You can add more depending on the consistency you want. I add the yogurt and milk to make it more filling and to hold me over til lunch. I love this recipe because Im always so hungry in the morning and I usually gravitate towards heavy foods like pancakes or eggs and bacon. If you drink this you immediately feel better about yourself,its filling so your not hungry two hours later, and it makes you more cautious about the food you continue to eat throughout the day. And btw, the honey kills the spinach taste so dont be nervous or put off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Awesome idea/recipe! Solution to weak blenders: add ~1cup dairy (milk/yogurt) or juice Also, throw in 1/2 cup oats for a great run-out-the-door breakfast drink (you will hardly taste it). Mwahaha, those kids will never know they drank some mighty healthy stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this recipe I have been making these for about 6 months and just saw the recipe online today! I don't use ice or honey but I do add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup white grape or apple juice to it instead. The apple juice tastes a little bit better, since it is sweeter. Sometimes I'll add flax. It really depends how you like it, mine is thinner than most smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
WARNING: This is very difficult to blend with a regular blender. Put the banana and ice chips (and I added a bit of water) in first, then the spinach, and the strawberries in last, adding just a few at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Delicious! Mine turned out a darker pink color with specks of green, not "slime green" colored as in the picture. I added 6 oz (3/4 cup) pineapple juice as one recommendation suggested. All other ingredients were the same-- 2 cups each of frozen spinach & frozen strawberries, 1 banana, 2 tbsp honey and 1/2 cup ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I use this for the base of my smoothie recipes. I love it because it really fills you up! Started out with the original recipe (still 5 stars) and catered it to what I usually have on hand. I use 1/2 frozen banana, 1 - 1 1/2 cups spinach, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 4 frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup milk and a bunch of ice. Whiz it up and drink it all for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a great smoothie recipe!! I didn't put in ice but I did add a little oj and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States