Green Slime Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. I used frozen blueberries, milk instead of ice, and left out the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I froze my spinach for an hour as the recipe said, but because I don't own a Vitamix, I knew I needed a little liquid for this to even blend. I began with 1/2 cup pineapple juice and added the banana. Then I added 1 cup of the spinach and blended and then added the other cup and blended. I added 1 cup of frozen strawberries and knew that there was no way I would be able to add more frozen berries, so I just added another cup of cold strawberries from my frig. This was plenty thick, so I didn't need the ice. Since I am not fond of honey, I didn't add it either and was satisfied with the sweetness. My only complaint is the ugly almost pale chocolate color. Not green at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Ok...May sound crazy but here goes...I first blended dry uncooked rolled oats (about 1/2 cup) in blender until fine. then added the spinach, one carrot, kewi, peach and pineapple. I also added a few frozen cherries with the ice (i like it cold). To avoid having the fix-ins just "sit" in the blender and not move while on, I added a bit of orange juice. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This smoothie was tasty and definitely very healthy! I didn't get quite the same shade of green, but it was an easy way to up my fruit & veggie count today :) thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I make this but have used a variety of different things. I use a pear, banana and spinach, with some milk or yogurt. Tastes like a pear. I have also used the mixed berries and it tastes like the McDonalds version and a little bit purple. Great smoothie and so good for you, also fills you up and keeps you full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I absolutely loved this! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great recipe! I added mango and OJ to make it tropical and added applesauce instead of honey. I also added in some flax. My 2 year old loved it!!! Great way to sneak in some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Accidentally added two bananas; they had both been frozen. Did not add ice - almost everything was frozen anyway! I added a little over a cup of apple cider to help it blend. Only added one TBS honey. With the apple cider, not sure if any sweetener is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I also found that I can substitute kale and chard in this recipe for all or some of the spinach. It is a good way to use up my extra garden produce. I didn't freeze it, but I have a champ blender and it is no problem blending it. I use frozen whatever I have in the freezer at the time and add different protein powders. I don't find I need a sweetener with the banana. I want to cut back on carbs with higher glycemic index. This is a great way to hide all kinds of good things and eat and run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent Recipe! I made it exactly as the recipe directed and it was delicious, I didn't even taste the spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States