Green Slime Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! Really pleased how it came out. Skipped the honey, but used some fresh orange juice & a bit of water to get it going in the blender. The spinach is barely noticeable - next time I'll add in a little more. If you are expecting a milkshake, then you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a great, sweet treat that makes you feel healthier just by drinking it, then you will love this. This will become a regular for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. I used frozen blueberries, milk instead of ice, and left out the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I froze my spinach for an hour as the recipe said, but because I don't own a Vitamix, I knew I needed a little liquid for this to even blend. I began with 1/2 cup pineapple juice and added the banana. Then I added 1 cup of the spinach and blended and then added the other cup and blended. I added 1 cup of frozen strawberries and knew that there was no way I would be able to add more frozen berries, so I just added another cup of cold strawberries from my frig. This was plenty thick, so I didn't need the ice. Since I am not fond of honey, I didn't add it either and was satisfied with the sweetness. My only complaint is the ugly almost pale chocolate color. Not green at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Ok...May sound crazy but here goes...I first blended dry uncooked rolled oats (about 1/2 cup) in blender until fine. then added the spinach, one carrot, kewi, peach and pineapple. I also added a few frozen cherries with the ice (i like it cold). To avoid having the fix-ins just "sit" in the blender and not move while on, I added a bit of orange juice. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This smoothie was tasty and definitely very healthy! I didn't get quite the same shade of green, but it was an easy way to up my fruit & veggie count today :) thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I make this but have used a variety of different things. I use a pear, banana and spinach, with some milk or yogurt. Tastes like a pear. I have also used the mixed berries and it tastes like the McDonalds version and a little bit purple. Great smoothie and so good for you, also fills you up and keeps you full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I absolutely loved this! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great recipe! I added mango and OJ to make it tropical and added applesauce instead of honey. I also added in some flax. My 2 year old loved it!!! Great way to sneak in some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Accidentally added two bananas; they had both been frozen. Did not add ice - almost everything was frozen anyway! I added a little over a cup of apple cider to help it blend. Only added one TBS honey. With the apple cider, not sure if any sweetener is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I also found that I can substitute kale and chard in this recipe for all or some of the spinach. It is a good way to use up my extra garden produce. I didn't freeze it, but I have a champ blender and it is no problem blending it. I use frozen whatever I have in the freezer at the time and add different protein powders. I don't find I need a sweetener with the banana. I want to cut back on carbs with higher glycemic index. This is a great way to hide all kinds of good things and eat and run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States