Green Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This was fresh, tangy, and flavorful. I skipped the shallots, doubled the green chiles, cilantro, and jalapeno, and added 2 finely diced large avocados and a couple Tbs lime juice (for flavor and to keep the avocado from browning). Taking the seeds out of the jalapenos left the salsa without any heat at all, so as a personal preference, next time I'll just leave them in to get a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I made this salsa for a St. Patrick's Day party and it was easy and delicious. I didn't need to add any of the jalepeno because it was already hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This salsa recipe is delicious. I used canned tomatillos and I also added chopped avocado to the mixture. My family loved it. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
This was wonderful! The flavors were great and my husband and I ate it with tortilla chips in one night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I doubled the amount of tomatillas since I used canned ones and they aren't as big. Doubled the garlic for flavor. Didn't bother with the canned chiles because of the tomtillas. Used 6 fresh jalapenos leaving the seed in 3, but we like spicy! Very good. Use 2 habaneros with seeds removed for a similar hot salsa. Served it with baked chips and fresh veggies, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Couldn't be easier. I added a few bottled jalapeno slices instead of a whole fresh one. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I was looking for a green salsa to put on chicken burritos and this salsa was perfect. I had to use canned tomatillos because I couldn't find fresh but it was still delicious and even better the next day! I would recomment adding 1 or 2 teaspoons of kosher salt. A great recipe and easy too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
My hubby loves this...He makes it all the time..One of his friends said to cook it to bring out the flavors...It is a regular here at our home..Thanks for sharing..M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This was great and came out restaurant-quality. One could jar this and give it as a hostess gift! I made this is my Magic Bullet blender, so I had to cut the recipe down, but that was still plenty for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Wanted to use up some green tomatoes from the garden so used this recipe. Instead of tomatillos I substituted the green tomatoes. Turned out delicious. Since I seldom have green tomatoes I'll use tomatillos next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States