Green Risotto with Fava Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used brown rice as I didn't have other in the house. I also should have used more water in resolving the vegetable broth cubes...was a bit salty for me, but think it's just a 'user-error' and so I'd like to give a 4.5 as I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Yummy, yummy, yummy....sorry though, it served only 3 people....my husband ate way more than he should have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Very good risotto and well worth the work! I unshelled only the favas used for decoration and the taste was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Excellent; I tried this recipe, however with pine nuts instead of fava beans; te result was a rich risotto with a mid-eastern twist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
this was yummy, i would add a bit more pepper next time and i think it could probably lose the butter thats stirred in at the end if you need to watch the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
As a friend said, "I don't know if I'm sold on favas. All that work, and you just end up with a bunch of lima beans!" I bought fava beans at the farmers' market, and this was a delicious way to eat them...but they are a lot of work to prepare. I like all kinds of risotto. I'd make this again with limas and a handful of fresh herbs: Italian parsley, mint, and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Wow! This was so good that my husband, who NEVER eats fava beans, said it was "fantastic". It meets the cursory requirement for risotto to be rich and creamy, but the fava beans mixed in give it a lighter flavor. This is now my favorite risotto recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is a great, non-tradtional dish. As far as risottos go, however, I make others which I much prefer. A keeper, but not something I'll crave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Very good. Quite unique. Sort of reminds me mac and cheese in creaminess and taste. Taste better fresh, than as leftovers. Will make again as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is delicious! The preparation of the fava beans is a little bit of a pain, I think the next time I will use canned fava beans. Halfway through the stirring process, I thought to myself "I'll never make this again" but when I tasted it, IT IS DEFINITELY WORTH THE WORK, you'll never have a better rice dish! I used regular parmesan cheese and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States