Green Risotto with Fava Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Oh where do I begin!! I searched everywhere for FRESH fava beans and could NOT find them!! I bought the packaged ones and followed the directions. I cooked as suggested (doubled the recipe) and added pine nuts...another reviewer added substituted them for beans. I just mixed them in with fava beans. Good recipe...as with all risotto...it was very time consuming, but very much worth it! Thanks for the recipe. The only reason it isn't rate 5 star is because fava beans are a lot harder to find than I thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was FANTASTIC. Here's what I changed: I used a can of lima beans to replace the favas -- it was less work and made limas actually taste good. Also, according to the kind folks at Cooks Illustrated you don't have to: 1) heat the chicken stock before adding it and 2) add little bits at a time. So I skipped both of those steps and dumped the stock in at once, stirring periodically. No gluey risotto here! I also subbed Madiera (since I had it onhand) for the white wine and it was SPECTACULAR. Warning, tho, unless you'd like this to be a main dish (vs. a side) it makes a LOT of risotto. I'm going to freeze my leftovers and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe! Use as many fava beans as you can stand when making this. I used homemade chicken broth, which made this risotto taste truly outstanding, creamy, rich, and would recommend others do the same if possible. (I just boil a grocery store roasted chicken carcass after we've picked off all the meat and freeze the broth in bags to be used for recipes that would really benefit, like this risotto.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I was on the search for a fava bean recipe as we are part of a farm co-op and had some to use. This was wonderful... even my 2 year old ate it up! We didn't have enough fava beans so we ended up blending them all but it turned out perfectly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Yum -perfect as is. Didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I tried this recipe but completely ignored the fava bean parts. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I was very sorry to see this meal end! I added a little bit of Italian Seasoning, and I used chicken bouillon cubes, which meant that I didn't add any extra salt. It was a little salty for me, but my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This risotto is to die for!!! Absolutely fantastic!!! It is full of delicious flavor and the gorgeous, buttery texture of the fava beans makes this recipe out of this world! I make this recipe again and again! Many thanks from me and my husband too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was an outstanding recipe, well worth the trouble of shelling the beans, and very healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used brown rice as I didn't have other in the house. I also should have used more water in resolving the vegetable broth cubes...was a bit salty for me, but think it's just a 'user-error' and so I'd like to give a 4.5 as I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States