Green Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Broccoli isn't one of the vegeatable my family eats, but this was a big hit, my family really enjoyed this casserole.I did alter the recipe a little. I used a can of cheddar cheese soup instead of the jar processes cheese and added about 1 cup of shredded mild cheddar cheese amd 1/2 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese and Increased the milk to 1-1/2 cups plus 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This turned out very good. I used a can of cheddar chesse soup instead of the jar of processed cheese, and I also used regular rice, instead of the instant. I will make this again, my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
The flavor of this rice is really good, but I followed the directions exactly and mine came out crunchy! Does this need to be covered? ANyway, I think next time I will just cook the rice first and then mix it all and bake for about 30 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Used this recipe as a base with a few changes. Used regular rice which I cooked first, had frozen broccoli/cauliflower combination so used that, a little less milk and topped with crispy fried onions. Baked with lid on until last 10 minutes. Turned our great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
My mom used to make something really similar to this, and I missed it so much! I came to allrecipes and tried this out. The similarity is amazing! Thank you for a great recipe and the trip down Memory Lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Slater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I found this recipe several years ago when I was looking for an easy & cheap recipe for a dish to pass, for my son's Scout picnics etc (no I do not expect my wife to do this chore, she already feeds us wonderful healthy meals). I'm a guy now in my late 40s and this rocks! Mix everything up in a baking dish and throw it in the oven, and costs about $7 for everything AND it always gets all eaten up. I used to do complex recipes but the heck with that, for six or seven years now I have exclusively used this, and my wife & son ask for it at home too. I've had people ask me about it then tell me later there are many variations they found online, but I have always stuck to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was easy to make and stick in the oven. It isn't a recipe that everyone will rave about, but it is one that you will enjoy at an everyday family dinner. I didn't have any cheese sauce, so I just put some velveeta and a little milk in the microwave and melted. Then added it to the mixture and it came out great. Definitely beats the boxed stuff and worth the very little extra effort. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I have finally found the perfect "bring a dish to pass" recipe. I can't believe how easy and fast it is to make, and it always gets scarfed up. I don't take anything else anymore to Scout or work picnics... this recipe is awesome! (my wife hates to make dishes to pass for various functions I go to, so take it from a husband/father- this dish is GREAT)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is much simpler than the one I've always done and just as delicious. The simpler, the better. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Well I really enjoyed this and so did my boyfriend..I was looking for something to go with the Veal Chops I was grilling and this came out perfect! Since my boyfriend doesn't like mushrooms I subsituted the cream of mushroom soup with cream of chicken and herbs.. I used brown rice instead of white rice and I also added fried onion pieces on top for the last 10 mins. It came out great and I will definately be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States