Green Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
YUM! I used liquid milk instead of the evaporated (but still 12 oz) and it turned out splendidly! I also added some bits of American cheese along with the cheddar, and extra cheddar cheese. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was very easy to make and tasted great. I used milk + margarine instead of evaporated milk. I also added some garlic powder and italian seasonings for flavor. Didn't have enough shredded cheese so I used a little parmesan. It turned out great! I did have to cook it for a little longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Andrea, thanks for adding this recipe! I have been looking for this, as my aunt used to make this for our family gatherings. She is now deceased, and I was pleased to find that this is the same recipe she made! It is wonderful & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This is GREAT! No complaints.Very rich tasting, creamy, not over powered by spinach either. Mine did not turn out one bit dry. I used freash spinach. Cooked spinach in chicken broth instead of plain water. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Adults loved it, Kids were leary of "green" rice. Will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This was a fantastic recipe. It did need some salt and pepper, and in my opinion, the one cup of cheese wasn't enough - next time I'll double it. This will be added to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This came out great, good to have with Chicken Adobo (another recipe on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made my rice "green" with a can of chopped green chiles instead of spinach. Also, for added flavor I boiled the rice with chopped onion and garlic, then topped the dish with cheese before baking. Before serving, I sprinkled freshly diced tomatoes sprinkled on top - that really finished it off. What a great addition to a Mexican-style meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband was telling me about "green rice" he use to love when he was little. I found this recipe and gave it a shot. He loved it. I have made it several times and it has always turned out perfect. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steelergirljen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband despises spinach, but he LOVES this dish. The first time I made it, he turned down a second helping of meat so he could have extra green rice! Like others, I added garlic powder, mixed herbs/italian seasoning, salt and pepper and doubled the amount of cheese. I also substituted regular milk + butter for the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States