Green Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Andrea, thanks for adding this recipe! I have been looking for this, as my aunt used to make this for our family gatherings. She is now deceased, and I was pleased to find that this is the same recipe she made! It is wonderful & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This is GREAT! No complaints.Very rich tasting, creamy, not over powered by spinach either. Mine did not turn out one bit dry. I used freash spinach. Cooked spinach in chicken broth instead of plain water. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Adults loved it, Kids were leary of "green" rice. Will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This was a fantastic recipe. It did need some salt and pepper, and in my opinion, the one cup of cheese wasn't enough - next time I'll double it. This will be added to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
YUM! I used liquid milk instead of the evaporated (but still 12 oz) and it turned out splendidly! I also added some bits of American cheese along with the cheddar, and extra cheddar cheese. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This came out great, good to have with Chicken Adobo (another recipe on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made my rice "green" with a can of chopped green chiles instead of spinach. Also, for added flavor I boiled the rice with chopped onion and garlic, then topped the dish with cheese before baking. Before serving, I sprinkled freshly diced tomatoes sprinkled on top - that really finished it off. What a great addition to a Mexican-style meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was very easy to make and tasted great. I used milk + margarine instead of evaporated milk. I also added some garlic powder and italian seasonings for flavor. Didn't have enough shredded cheese so I used a little parmesan. It turned out great! I did have to cook it for a little longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband was telling me about "green rice" he use to love when he was little. I found this recipe and gave it a shot. He loved it. I have made it several times and it has always turned out perfect. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steelergirljen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband despises spinach, but he LOVES this dish. The first time I made it, he turned down a second helping of meat so he could have extra green rice! Like others, I added garlic powder, mixed herbs/italian seasoning, salt and pepper and doubled the amount of cheese. I also substituted regular milk + butter for the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States