Green Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was very easy to make and tasted great. I used milk + margarine instead of evaporated milk. I also added some garlic powder and italian seasonings for flavor. Didn't have enough shredded cheese so I used a little parmesan. It turned out great! I did have to cook it for a little longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband despises spinach, but he LOVES this dish. The first time I made it, he turned down a second helping of meat so he could have extra green rice! Like others, I added garlic powder, mixed herbs/italian seasoning, salt and pepper and doubled the amount of cheese. I also substituted regular milk + butter for the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This is GREAT! No complaints.Very rich tasting, creamy, not over powered by spinach either. Mine did not turn out one bit dry. I used freash spinach. Cooked spinach in chicken broth instead of plain water. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This was a fantastic recipe. It did need some salt and pepper, and in my opinion, the one cup of cheese wasn't enough - next time I'll double it. This will be added to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
YUM! I used liquid milk instead of the evaporated (but still 12 oz) and it turned out splendidly! I also added some bits of American cheese along with the cheddar, and extra cheddar cheese. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
First off, this should really be called Spinach Rice Casserole as it is a lot like a fave of mine, Broccoli Rice Casserole. Like others, I actually expected green rice for some reason. Definitely needs a good dose of pepper and don't forget the extra cheese. May try again with regular milk instead of evaporated as it wasn't that creamy and maybe add some butter. Oh, and the directions were kinda skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I used frozen chopped spinach which I thawed for this recipe, since it was quicker. I would suggest topping this with a butter and bread crumb mixture to make a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Good with some doctoring. I used some cumin and hot peppers to spice it up. I also used a bit of vegetable stock to cook the rice in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This recipe was good, but I didn't really like the spinach. I think next time I make it, I'll omit the spinach and just use broccoli. Maybe I'll add some more cheese too... it tasted kind of bland to me. My parents loved it though. I guess when you get older, you learn to like more stuff. The recipe was really easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Andrea, thanks for adding this recipe! I have been looking for this, as my aunt used to make this for our family gatherings. She is now deceased, and I was pleased to find that this is the same recipe she made! It is wonderful & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States