Green Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is a good recipe that you can adapt to your liking. For example, I used soya milk with a little margarine instead of the evaporated milk, used brown rice, added a little broccoli, and put in some dried basil, cayenne and garlic powder. My two year old gobbled it up, and my husband and I both liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was excellent. I used both broccoli and spinach, added some diced onion, plus salt, pepper, and italian seasonings. Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Pretty good. Needs something though. A little kick. Maybe salt or garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalimuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was very easy to make and tasted great. I used milk + margarine instead of evaporated milk. I also added some garlic powder and italian seasonings for flavor. Didn't have enough shredded cheese so I used a little parmesan. It turned out great! I did have to cook it for a little longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made my rice "green" with a can of chopped green chiles instead of spinach. Also, for added flavor I boiled the rice with chopped onion and garlic, then topped the dish with cheese before baking. Before serving, I sprinkled freshly diced tomatoes sprinkled on top - that really finished it off. What a great addition to a Mexican-style meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This came out great, good to have with Chicken Adobo (another recipe on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I used frozen chopped spinach which I thawed for this recipe, since it was quicker. I would suggest topping this with a butter and bread crumb mixture to make a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was very bland even though I cooked the rice in chicken broth. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
First off, this should really be called Spinach Rice Casserole as it is a lot like a fave of mine, Broccoli Rice Casserole. Like others, I actually expected green rice for some reason. Definitely needs a good dose of pepper and don't forget the extra cheese. May try again with regular milk instead of evaporated as it wasn't that creamy and maybe add some butter. Oh, and the directions were kinda skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Definately needs salt and pepper. My kids did not like it at all. My husband and I liked it after adding hotsauce to make it less bland. For some reason, I was expecting "green" rice, but it's ok that the rice wasn't green. I will make this again. Maybe more flavor would be added if I cooked the rice in chicken broth instead of water. (For every 1 cuo rice - cook with two cups water) This was missing in the instructions. I also added cooked ground beef when the rice was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States