Green Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made some substiutions on this - used parmesan because I had no cheddar. Used heavy cream and milk instead of the evap. and seasoned the heck out of it. The flaor was good but it was not creamy at all. I'll try again with cheddar but it was pretty tasty! Also, I had to cook mine 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I added salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder as well as a cup of velvetta. I also used broccoli instead of spinach. It was DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We really liked this dish. the only thing I would recommend is a little salt and a dash of pepper. We also added a little extra cheese. The recipe instructions are for regular rice, not quick cooking, so if you use quick cooking, go by it's directions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Bland, bland, bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This recipe is really bland, even with 2 cups of cheese. I do not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I added a tsp fresh minced garlic because I just couldn't imagine leaving it out :) and I sprinkled some of the cheese over the top thinking it would make a crust but it didn't really, and it really didn't need it. Other than that I just followed the recipe. Delicious! Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I changed this recipe quite a bit based upon other reviews. Seems it would have been pretty bland if done only as directed. What I ended up with was fantastic. I added Herbs de Provence an additional cup of cheese and cooked the rice in chicken broth. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Made it with double the cheese and evaporated milk. Will try it with some chicken, milk, butter, & more cheese next time. Good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
A little bland, but it has spinach in it and my kids will eat it, so the recipe is still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I must agree with several of the other reviews; I found the dish rather bland. I even made a few slight adjustments and still had the same feeling. I used fresh spinach and sauteed it slightly in olive oil with garlic, salt, pepper, and italian seasoning before adding it to the rice mixture. I still felt that there wasn't enough flavor and it wasn't as creamy as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States