Green Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My husband and son LOVED this. It was a little on the spicy side for me, but I'm kind of a spice wimp - so I will give it 5 stars based on their review. It was my first time using a dried chile. I think next time I will not only remove the stem, but also slice it down the middle and remove some of the seeds inside. The only change I made was that I used all pork. It was a very tasty, satisfying dinner. When I make it again, and I will, I will cut back on the amount of meat. 2 lbs was a lot of meat compared to the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is quite similar to the recipe on the back of the "Maiz para Pozole" that you can buy here in Mexico City. Seeing as the recipe is by Herdez, that doesn't surprise me. The big difference in the two recipes is that the Maiz recipe uses several chiles (two different types) and this one uses only one. This is perfect for our family because my kids, while they are adapting, are still not huge fans of spicy food, and this Herdez recipe does a great job of toning it down a bit. We use this recipe often (it's a fairly easy tasty meal, with the slow cooker) and substitute chicken for all the pork as my husband doesn't eat pork (although I made it with all pork when we had guests, because traditionally in Mexico City, pozole is made with pork). I serve it with cilantro and Mexican cheese for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
My family totally loved this! I didn't use the pasilla or the green chiles as my family doesn't like their food too spicy. I used only chicken breast and added more hominy as we love our hominy. Will be making this all the time as it is much much easier than the traditional red pozole and by using chicken it is better for us. I think next time I will use chicken thighs as the breast does seem to be dry for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Tobias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Loved this recipe! Made a hearty batch for friends for New Year's Day polar best plunge. Tripled the recipe and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It came out delicious. I'm a fireman and made this for 11 guys, most of whom have never tried pozole, they loved it. If it can pass a firehouse test you know it's good. I browned the meat before and had to quadruple everything to feed the number I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
LOVE! Easy and tons of flavor. Top it with a little sour cream and cilantro! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lezleena
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
The only problem was..... No leftovers! My husband is from New Mexico and LOVED this pozole! I have never been a fan of red chili so was excited to try this... It was a hit!! Changed nothing!! Amazing! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
There's not much I don't like but unfortunately, I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. Followed the instructions but the meat was dry. It seemed like it just needed more to it feeling like I was eating a bowl of meat and liquid. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I have been a pozole lover for many years. Although not Mexican by heritage, I lived in Mexico for a year and enjoy real Mexican food. My wife and I were very pleased with how this recipe came out. Like others, I used only pork tenderloin. I also dredged the cut-up tenderloin pieces in flour and then browned them in a skillet with olive oil. I deglazed the skillet with some of the chicken broth and added the "drippings" to the slow cooker. The only other change I made was to substitute taco seasoning for the cumin; I was out of cumin but had a package of taco seasoning. It worked fine. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I had some left over pork loin from the night before and made this Pozole over the stove without using the chicken. It was AMAZING. It didn't need to cook very long for all the flavors to meld - I had maybe 20 mins of simmer time. All of my children loved it- that rarely happens! :) I used tortilla strips, avocado, shredded red cabbage, cilantro, sour cream and cheese as optional garnishes, but truthfully, I don't think it needed more than the cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Traditional Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers, made in a slo

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States