Green Pepper Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My family loved this recipe and the only thing I did different was to saute the onions and the greenpeppers together along with 3 cloves of garlic. I also omitted the browning sauce because I didn't have any and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Fantastic! I added a pack of Lipton Onion Soup, and I didn't have the browning sauce. Turned out really tender and delicious. I worried that the peppers would turn to mush, but they were great - not mushy at all! Green peppers and pork really work well together, and I grew my own this year, and am tired of stuffed peppers. This was a great way to use up a few of them! Oh, you have to serve this with mashies to use the wonderful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaRed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Dyn-o-mite recipe for simple, nutritious, and tasty everyday home cooking. It is likely to be a family favorite for us, I think. I used 6 big chops with bones, peppered liberally before browning (after sauteing the veggies plus 3 minced cloves garlic) and chicken broth for the cooking liquid. I used a cast iron Dutch oven for the browning, then for baking in the oven at 325 degrees for about 1-1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
As written, I can only rate this recipe as two stars and this is unfortunate because I feel it has good potential. First, there is no seasoning other than salt and pepper! But that was easily fixed with a sort of all seasoning blend called "Old World 3rd Street Seasoning" from the Spice House in Milwaukee (ingredients of which are unfortunately not included on the jar). I used it on the peppers and onions as well as the chops and also added fresh minced garlic. These two small additions alone I know made all the difference in this dish and definitely should be included. The flour was unnecessary so I didn't use it; I did use the browning sauce and wish I would have omitted that too. All it did was obliterate the beautiful colors of the green, orange, red and yellow peppers I used. Finally, the cooking time is far too long, particularly for boneless chops. To simmer these for 40 minutes would make them tough as a board! Boneless chops are so lean that they only need to simmer till cooked through - I think mine took 10 minutes. Still, the final result was very good, and had that final result been the actual recipe, I'd have rated it four stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful! This was a very easy recipe. The family just loved it and the meat was very tender. I used different color peppers. I didn't have the browning sauce and it was fine without the gravy. Thanks from Illinois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very good! IMO mushrooms would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Honest, simple, delicious. I omitted the browning sauce, opting instead to sear the chops well. For a fun twist, substitute green onion for the regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I don't know if it was because I didn't use Browning sauce (I substituted a little Soy Sauce and Worc. Sauce), but I found these to be very bland. I also added in sauted garlic as suggested by others. I did follow the directions and add enough water to cover the chops. I felt that this was too much and may have been on reason that there was not much flavor. The smelled delicious while cooking, though. I ended up sprinkling mine with Cajun seasonings (read that here in a review) just to add some flavor. That helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
If you make this recipe as instructed you have a very tasteless dish, in my opinion. With revisions you can have a 4 star recipe. First season your chops and brown them. The flavor from the green peppers is not enuough to flavor your meat. Add your favorite spices and herbs. I added a beef & chicken bouillon cube and herbs. I ended up with a flavorful dish (chops not as tender as I wanted them to be) but it took some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was OK, but i felt it needed something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States